Do I Need a new PSU? Or a New OS? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2009, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default Do I Need a new PSU? Or a New OS?

Forgive me if this is a stupid question but I'm on the verge of buying a new power supply....but I'm not 100% certain that's what's going on.

Here's the situation:

When my computer is turned on - I have no problems at all. It will run and run for hours. To me, this would suggest my power supply is fine.

But, when I shut down my PC or when Vista goes into 'sleep' mode or whatever it is and I come back to the PC - it won't 'wake up' or turn on. So, in frustration, I've smacked the case (where the PSU is) and the lights on the keyboard will flash on for a second and then I can press the power button and it turns on.

The only explanation I could come up with a bad connection or a short or something and smacking it knocks it all 'into place' again; but it never dies or stops working while it's running - it just has trouble turning on or waking.

Any thoughts or suggestions on what I should do?
__________________

RobDude is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 05:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Do I Need a new PSU? Or a New OS?

Open up the case and make sure all connections are secure. Also if you have not done it recently dust it out with some compressed air.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Do I Need a new PSU? Or a New OS?

Components like hard drives, optical drives, and fans require significantly more power to initially start.

Don't rule out a PSU so soon. PSU problems can be very random, very silly, and sometimes make little sense.

I doubt you have a loose connection, since the connections fit so snug that they're either in or not, but you can check I guess.

I'm going to guess either PSU or motherboard.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Do I Need a new PSU? Or a New OS?

^ some connects do not fit snugly, and could have slowly vibrated loose (such as an hdd power cable) or it could just be connected in a bad way that does not make a solid connection. Although you are correct, psu problems usually are sporadic and unpredictable. But i would do what i said in my first post before making the problem so absolute.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 07:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Do I Need a new PSU? Or a New OS?

All vital connections are very solid. The 20+4 pin ATX connector is, in my experiences, quite snug. The 4/8 pin CPU connector has a clasp, as does the 6/8 pin PCI-e connectors. This is all you need to turn the PC on.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 07:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Do I Need a new PSU? Or a New OS?

^ not all connections in every computer for every brand are "always" snug...but that is besides the point, they could not have been connected properly in the first place. Also like i said, they could have a bad connection.

There is no need to jump to things without eliminating variables. That would be like buying a new computer because the screen flickered.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 07:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Do I Need a new PSU? Or a New OS?

I suppose, but in such a case you'd think it wouldn't work at all.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, not booting up...think it's PSU kershner Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 37 01-23-2009 07:29 PM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 07:03 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.