Do i need a new PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2008, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Do i need a new PSU?

Right

Often when i am playing crysis and Rise of Legends, the two most demanding games i have atm, my system often either hard locks, or BSODs during the most intensive parts e.g. in crysis when i am shooting someone in a MP match with a minigun. This is very annoying since i have to reboot my PC.

My PSU is an arctic power 700W unit with 44A of power on the 12v Rail, which seems a little below spec to handle to GTS 320mb cards, as well as a slightly overclocked penryn quad.

Do you guys think i need a new PSU, and if so, will you be able to name me a PSU i can get in the UK for below £50?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 09:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Do i need a new PSU?

That psu should be more than capable.

Have you got the lastest drivers for your graphics cards?
Also have you checked the temps of your cards? although if there not overclocked i cant see newish cards over heating.

Cant think of anything else really
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-17-2008, 10:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Do i need a new PSU?

right.

well im running on the latest forceware 175.16
one of my cards is about 9 months old, the other is 2 months old, so neither should be overheating, so now im just assuming its XP X64 being annoying...
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.