Do I need a new motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2015, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: US
Posts: 4
Default Do I need a new motherboard?

My new PSU just came in yesterday, so today I spent some time installing it. I got the PSU originally so I could install my CPU, it's an Intel i7 4790k. After installing the PSU I took the fan off of my old Pentium and attempted to place the i7 in the slot, and of course it didn't fit. I tried looking around on the internet to see if it was compatible with my motherboard but so far I haven't found anything yet. The motherboard is a Lenovo MAHOBAY. Does anyone know if the i7 works with this and I'm just doing something wrong? Or do I need to buy another motherboard, how much would that be and what would you reccomend as well?
__________________

bob119800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Do I need a new motherboard?

Assuming this is a Lenovo system - what's the model # for the actual system?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 05:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: US
Posts: 4
Default Re: Do I need a new motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Assuming this is a Lenovo system - what's the model # for the actual system?
I'm not entirely sure, where would I find that? I don't think I have the box anymore but I can tell you my specs if you need those
bob119800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 05:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Do I need a new motherboard?

It should be on the computer case somewhere.

What CPU were/are you trying to replace?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 05:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: US
Posts: 4
Default Re: Do I need a new motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
It should be on the computer case somewhere.

What CPU were/are you trying to replace?
I'm trying to replace a Pentium G2030 with an i7 4790k, the notches on the side of the Pentium are a little bit further down then the ones on the i7

Edit: I'm not entirely sure the model is G2030 but that's the thing directly after the "pentium" part on the cpu so that's what I'm assuming
bob119800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubliminalX7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: 10.0.0.NO
Posts: 239
Default Re: Do I need a new motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob119800 View Post
I'm trying to replace a Pentium G2030 with an i7 4790k, the notches on the side of the Pentium are a little bit further down then the ones on the i7

Edit: I'm not entirely sure the model is G2030 but that's the thing directly after the "pentium" part on the cpu so that's what I'm assuming
The Pentium G2030 is meant for LGA 1155 compatible MoBo's And the i7-4790K is meant for LGA 1150. Your motherboard looks like it does not support Haswell. It looks like you may need to upgrade your motherboard now. Also do not try to force it if you haven't done so lol.
SubliminalX7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
SubliminalX7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: 10.0.0.NO
Posts: 239
Default Re: Do I need a new motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SubliminalX7 View Post
The Pentium G2030 is meant for LGA 1155 compatible MoBo's And the i7-4790K is meant for LGA 1150. Your motherboard looks like it does not support Haswell. It looks like you may need to upgrade your motherboard now. Also do not try to force it if you haven't done so lol.
Here:
GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-SLI LGA 1150 Intel Z97 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
SubliminalX7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 07:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: US
Posts: 4
Default Re: Do I need a new motherboard?

Thanks for the replies, my friend had reccomended me the ASUS Z87-PRO which is $150 on Newegg, would that be a better buy?

ASUS Z87-PRO LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard - Newegg.com
bob119800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 09:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: Do I need a new motherboard?

Either would work, the Z97 has a few newer options but both will work well.
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS P6T DELUXE X58 Motherboard or Asus Rampage Extreme X48 Socket 775 Motherboard? ? Shyam Bhat New Systems | Building and Buying 22 11-04-2008 05:21 PM
Motherboard vs Motherboard - OC thread StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 26 03-22-2008 05:56 PM
Need new vid card, Maybe new motherboard. psychedelicyelp Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 7 08-07-2005 07:22 AM
Need a new motherboard maylar Overclocking and Modding 16 12-01-2004 01:19 AM
Need help quick with new motherboard mrzeeedler Overclocking and Modding 7 04-11-2004 01:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.