Do I need a new Motherboard??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2006, 01:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default Do I need a new Motherboard???


Well after thinking that my onboard sound processor was causing bootup issues, I've now realised the real culprit is my AGP slot. I thought (and hoped) it may have been the graphics card but alas 2 new cards have exhibited the same problem.

The problem is that it generally takes 2, 3 and 4 reboots to get going after the PC has been off for an extended period i.e overnight. Once I'm up and running any reboots usually work OK.

I can't recall the exact message but the first boot after I installed a new graphics card gave an address space type error and the windows load halted/hung.

So basically I'm now trying to decide whether I have a physical problem with the mobo &/or AGP slot or whether it could be a BIOS issue.

Any ideas on how I can find out?


edit: I thought that I should also point out that the first successful boot after problems brings up the " the system has recovered from a serious error" message. A check of event log shows a generic device error

Rubicon99 is offline  
Old 06-22-2006, 09:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

MIght very well be your NOrthbridge chipset or AGP slot isn't getting suffiecinet power. Two basic issuws must be addressed first!!! Try another power supply and run memtest86 on your RAM. In either case, the problems you have described can be the result of wiht bad memory or a faulty power supply. The fact that AGP shows any signal at POST makes me suspicious of your power supply.

Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 01:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7

Yep looks like it's faulty memory. I couldn't get the memtest86 image to boot from CD so I used another tool (Windows Memory Diagnostic or something like that). Anyway the stick in slot 1 failed one of the tests and then I reversed them and the same stick (now in slot 2) failed a couple more tests.

So looks lie off to get more memory.
Rubicon99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.