Do I need better hardware for HD Video Editing? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2010, 01:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
roweder's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Do I need better hardware for HD Video Editing?

I have been using (or trying to use) Sony Vegas Pro 9.0, and Cyberlink Power Director 8.0 to edit HD movies that I've recorded on my Sony HDR-CX550V camcorder, and neither software can do it.

Vegas pro renders the first 2-3 minutes of the video well, but then it starts to get choppy and eventually it just freezes at a frame and stays there while the sound goes on.

Power Director renders the whole video the same, but scenes turn black with sound, and they're not just black with sound in the rendered video, but after you render the project, the scenes turn black with sound in the project timeline as well, ruining the hard work you've just done.

The hardware I am running meets and exceeds the system requirements, but I have a feeling that the system requirements might not be totally accurate.

I am running the ASUS P5N-D Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz E6600, ASUS nVidia GTX 480, and Corsair 8GB DDR2 Memory at 800MHz (and a 750w PSU).

I'm looking to upgrade my computer at the moment anyway, but before I do I want to be sure that the the problems I am having rendering HD videos are due to my hardware's lack of power, and not the software.

Please let me know what you think,

Thanks in advance,


roweder is offline  
Old 08-03-2010, 07:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Almighty Forensica
Yami's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,435
Default Re: Do I need better hardware for HD Video Editing?

I highly doubt your specs are to blame. The CPU is a little dated, but otherwise your specs are really quite good.

Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone HTC One M8 - Sense 7 - 6.0

Uni MSci Ethical Hacking, Coventry University
Work Trainee Cell Site Analyst
LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is online now  
Old 08-04-2010, 09:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
roweder's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: Do I need better hardware for HD Video Editing?

thank you, I actually found out that it was actually an incompatibility between sony vegas and windows 64 bit. I'm not sure what's up with the other program though, it's got its own world of problems I guess... I won't be using it much anyway now that I'm learning to use vegas.
roweder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Visual c++ error GG1972 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-13-2009 09:52 PM
Video editing computer advise teknicalissue System Upgrades 5 12-16-2008 08:43 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.