Display problems with GTX280 cant get more than 4bit picture (pics included) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2008, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to Mach1threat
Default Display problems with GTX280 cant get more than 4bit picture (pics included)

My friends computer has the following specs:

AMD Phenom 9950 x4 2.6ghz
ABS 800watt PSU
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)

He was playing TF2, when all of a sudden the game crashed, Black screen... Rebooted the computer and the display is messed up. It is even messed up during boot phase and it looks like the following picture in and out of windows.

-Updating drivers (177.41_geforce_winxp_32bit_english_whql) did not help
-Installed card on 2 diff PCI Express slots, same problem
-Using 2 diff monitors (CRT & LCD w/DVI input)
-Trying to reformat the screen becomes pretty much unreadable
-Computer is 3 days old, has been playing crysis, BF 2142 and TF2 all on high settings with no problems what so ever.
-No display settings can be adjusted, Resolution wont go above 640X480 in 4 bit color

Please guide us in the right direction,

Thank You

Mach1threat is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
NosBoost300's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Display problems with GTX280 cant get more than 4bit picture (pics included)

card might have just died... maybe it wasnt gettiing proper ventillation and the card overheated.. and blam!.. messed up card...

check the cards temps through the nvidia control panel.. you may need to download ntune...

or you may even download nvidia precision tool

if it is the case the the card has stopped working properly.. you will need to rma it to manufacturer

also, was there any overclocking of anything... cpu... or video card

and was the pci-e frequency changed to anything by any chance

Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 08:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Display problems with GTX280 cant get more than 4bit picture (pics included)


I would say either it overheated or the drivers got corrupted.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 01:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Default Re: Display problems with GTX280 cant get more than 4bit picture (pics included)

try uninstaling the card, and removing the drivers with a program such as Driver Cleaner
then reboot, and install new drivers
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 02:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Display problems with GTX280 cant get more than 4bit picture (pics included)

Bad batch...
Corrupt Drivers...

possible issues
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Inspiron B130 LCD display problems samuelsteven Laptops and Notebooks 0 02-16-2008 11:00 PM
LCD Display takes long time to display picture upon startup Drewser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-11-2007 05:50 PM
Dell Inspiron 8100 notebook display problems kizzeith Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 09-30-2007 02:06 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.