Display problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2007, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Default Display problem

Hello all. Recently, my problem had been giving me a problem where, after quite a few crashes, instead of booting up properly it would show patterns of colored lines across the screen. Granted, the computer had been dormant almost 2 years. So, we took it to a trusted tech guy and he said that all of the dust had disrupted the connection between the video card and the motherboard. He cleaned it out, and all was good for a while.

A few days later, I heard some really bad grinding noises in my computer and after a few minutes, they died off. Naturally, I assumed it was a fan on the computer. "I'll fix it some other time", I told myself. Bad Idea. Turns out it had been the fan cooling the video card, which, after seeing the "Your system is overheating and is being slowed" message displayed by Windows, promptly gave out. So, we bought the same exact video card online (GeForce 5800 FX I beleive, not the best, but it works . Problem solved, right?

Not really. My computer is displaying the same lines again, and I have been looking all the Video Card slot on the mother board, trying to figure out if something is in it all this morning. Any input you guys can offer? My Dad will be helping me install a new Video Card later today if I can't fix it by lunch. Sorry for such a long post!

Thanks
__________________

MementoMori is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Display problem

That sounds like what happened to my 9500 pro, the fan went out and the card started overheating. When it did the display would whig out big time. First things first though, we need more information on what your old card was, and if possible what your motherboard is, so we can tell you if it has pci-e or agp.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Display problem

Well, both cards, the one that died and the one that we replaced it with were GeForce 5800FX's I think. As for my mother board, not being able to look at my system settings sucks =( I'll have to do it from looking, unless you know an easier way to figure out what it is? All I can tell from looking is it is made by ASUS and I have an Intel chipset, I think. I think it's getting juice from the power because there is a little green LED lit up. =-/ I'm not the best with Hardware.
MementoMori is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Display problem



Try reinstalling the drivers. Also, get the latest ones.

To find out your motherboard model, easily....download a program called CPU-Z, open it, and go to the mainboard tab. And report back.

Good luck!
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Display problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post


Try reinstalling the drivers. Also, get the latest ones.

To find out your motherboard model, easily....download a program called CPU-Z, open it, and go to the mainboard tab. And report back.

Good luck!
Well, I would try this, but (I forgot to mention in first post) when I try and boot up windows, all that displays is patterns of lines across the screen. It goes: PATTERN-->blank-->PATTERN-->blank, etc, until the computer reboots itself. I'll update first post.

Thanks
MementoMori is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Display problem

Sorry for the double post, but I have the modle number of my Mobo : P4C800-E. Written in white letters across the middle of the board. Any more input welcome!

Thanks
MementoMori is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Display problem

your motherboard is a skt 478 , try clearing the BIOS , and why wont you get a different card instead of the same one?
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 01:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Display problem

How do I clear the Bios if I can't get to the screen? The pattern of colored lines are still there, and I have no way of getting into Windows. Later today, though, I will be getting a better video card, hopefully something that won't fail =( I am really scared that it might be my Mobo, is there any surefire way to test if it is if I can't get Windows to boot?
MementoMori is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 01:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Display problem

If your motherboard has integrated video, remove the video card, plug the monitor up to the onboard video and boot up. This will at least let you know if its the video card or monitor causing the problem.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 12:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Display problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
If your motherboard has integrated video, remove the video card, plug the monitor up to the onboard video and boot up. This will at least let you know if its the video card or monitor causing the problem.
it doesnt have integrated
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Triple monitors sans Xinerama? Greg Linux and Open Source 3 07-06-2007 01:55 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
windows 2000 server display problem hiren Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-04-2007 01:31 AM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.