Display issues... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2009, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default Display issues...

Does anyone see a problem with this set-up? Computer starts up, no beeps but I get no display... I've tried an 850w PSU as well didn't change anything... anyone know what else it could be?

AMD PHENOM II X4 945 3.0GHZ
1TB SATA II 3.0 GB 7200RPM HD
4 GB DDR3 PC3 PC1333
MISC NO SLI/CROSSFIRE
GIGABYTE AMD MA770T-UD3P AM3 DDR3 166
APEVIA 600WATT POWER SUPPLY
MISC ONBOARD 7.1 SOUND
ZOTAC NVIDIA GTX 260 CORE 216 896MB P
WINDOWS VISTA ULTIMATE 64-BIT SP1
WINDOWS 7 UPGRADE FROM VISTA ULTIMATE
__________________

Felroth is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 06:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Display issues...

Are you able to try a different monitor, and/or a different graphics card?
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 11:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Display issues...

Yes and the monitor I am using on another computer so I know it works anyways. Card itself I am having a friend test on his comp.. see how that goes. Thinking maybe Mobo but I'm not sure...
Felroth is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Display issues...

Did it happen while you were doing something? Or did it just not work one day?
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 06:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Display issues...

No, I had just bought it then moved hadn't opened it. Shipped it out to where I am now. Then when I hooked it up and turned on the power there was no display. Everything turns on though. Although, I took out my vid card and ram, when I started it up there were no beeps still..
Felroth is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 10:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Display issues...

Okay... HAS this computer run fine before?

Did you build this, or prebuilt?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 09:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Display issues...

Prebuilt
Felroth is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 10:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Syria
Posts: 147
Send a message via Yahoo to alaa_ecv_tc
Default Re: Display issues...

Try to clear the BIOS !
alaa_ecv_tc is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 12:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Display issues...

I"d try taking everything out of your case and just boot on a peice of cardboard with only the cpu, ram, and gpu.

You miught just be shorting out.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-28-2009, 06:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Display issues...

reset bios and tried taking everything out... still same issues
__________________

Felroth is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
display issues f_lightning2001 Linux and Open Source 9 11-27-2008 08:54 PM
Issues issues issues. Vista-64bit. 9600GT's in SLI. 4GB Vista problems. Oy Vey. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-24-2008 12:59 PM
LCD Display takes long time to display picture upon startup Drewser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-11-2007 06:50 PM
Image display issues Trotter Microsoft Windows and Software 2 10-07-2007 10:39 PM
Display Issues gazvenn Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 10-01-2007 12:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.