"A disk read error occurred" - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2015, 09:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ausaris View Post
Well, there was an interesting (frustrating) turn of events...

The cloning process finished, and once I saw that it had only copied 502GB (there was about 840GB used on the old drive), I knew it wasn't going to work. I decided to try and boot it up anyway, but it just gives me a black screen saying the drive cannot be booted and gives a generic list of possible reasons. Being ok with that, as I had expected it wouldn't work, I decided to put in my windows 7 installation disk and just do a clean install - but when I try, it almost immediately cancels it and starts spewing pop-ups saying "X" file/folder is corrupt or unreadable, so the installation was cancelled. I also tried doing a repair install, and it did the same thing.

Did trying to clone the old HDD somehow corrupt the new one? Is there a way for me to format the disk and get it to a state where I would be able to run a clean install?

I almost had an anxiety attack when I started seeing the word "corrupted" in all those pop-ups.

S.O.S. Please send help lol
Use a GParted LiveCD (or the partition tool built in the Ubuntu LiveCD, which is probably GParted), and format the new drive. Or try and format it via the Windows installer media - though that's just a quick format and I don't suggest just doing quick formats. GParted will do a full format of the drive.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 09:10 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
Originally Posted by donetao View Post
Hi I'm sure other members will respond. What media are you using to do a clean install?
Are you trying to install windows on the defective HDD?? Did you disconnect the old HDD?
you have a new HDD and can't install Windows??
No, I am trying to do a fresh install of windows 7 on the new drive, because the cloned data from the old drive won't boot. I am using my windows 7 installation cd to do this, and yes, I have disconnected the old HDD.

Just tried the clean install again, and this time I selected a partition that wasn't used during the cloning, and it allowed me to install windows 7 successfully. I will see if I can format the other partition (the one that has the corrupt data from the old drive and won't boot) from inside windows.

EDIT: Or should I just do what Carnage suggested and format the entire drive from Ubuntu and work from there?
__________________

Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 09:29 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
EDIT: Or should I just do what Carnage suggested and format the entire drive from Ubuntu and work from there?
Yes you always follow what carnage suggests. I just put my 2 cents in, and hope I'm helping.
carnage is the main man here and will solve your issues!
I'll get out of the way!
Gary!
donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 09:31 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
Originally Posted by donetao View Post
You always follow what carnage suggests. I just put my 2 cents in, and hope I'm helping.
carnage is the main man here and will sole your issues!
I'll get out of the way!
Gary!
Hahaha I appreciate your help to! I am going to do things in what I am assuming will be the easy way, and format the drive from Ubuntu. For what i'm trying to do, the guides i've been reading for both methods tell me it will be much smoother than what i'm currently trying to do through windows.
Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 09:51 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Alright, final update...

GParted worked like a charm, and i'm doing a fresh install of windows 7 on the new HDD now. It sucks that I have to reinstall all my games/software and redo all my customization, BUT, at least i'll have a functioning computer again...

Thanks again for all the help guys. I love how fast you were to respond, and that you gave me advice through the whole process.

Here's to me learning to make back ups of my data! *sigh*
Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 09:55 PM   #26 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Glad to hear GParted worked for you.

Well, look at it this way...now you can slim down your list of installed applications and only install what you need .
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 09:59 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ausaris View Post
Alright, final update...

GParted worked like a charm, and i'm doing a fresh install of windows 7 on the new HDD now. It sucks that I have to reinstall all my games/software and redo all my customization, BUT, at least i'll have a functioning computer again...
Yup that sucks! If you had used a 3rd party imaging program, you would have never had to post on our forum. You could have installed your new HDD and had your PC back up and running just like the day you created the image. With all your games and every thing else!
I preach this all the time, but few ever listen. I have at least 12 images of my OS and I can put a brand new HDD the same size or larger and be back up like it was the day I created that image in about 30 minutes.
PS I'm very happy that you're on your way back to a functioning PC!
Gary!
donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 10:02 PM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
Well, look at it this way...now you can slim down your list of installed applications and only install what you need .
Good one carnage LOL. I need all my Apps. It's nice to have a clean install some times however.LOL
donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 10:40 PM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Well, look at it this way...now you can slim down your list of installed applications and only install what you need .
This is true. I don't really need ALL of the games/software/whatever I had on there. I look forward to filling it all up again haha
__________________

Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disk read error occurred message help raverx3m Microsoft Windows and Software 11 02-13-2010 02:02 AM
A disk read error occurred Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart Preacher Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-08-2007 01:22 AM
"a disk read error has occurred" cream_cheese Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 11-04-2006 12:58 PM
A Disk Read Error Occurred. Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart. HELP!!! consolemax_com Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 11-12-2005 10:17 AM
A Disk Read Error Occurred, Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart fingerprint Microsoft Windows and Software 3 01-25-2005 04:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.