"A disk read error occurred" - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2015, 09:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Hi carnage! I realize I'm a pest, but is my link OK and do you have a better one for the OP?
Would be nice to have a tutorial here on Techist about this topic!
Thanks!
Gary!
__________________

donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 09:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

The HTG article is fine as it approaches both from trying to get into via the GUI and failing that, mount the drive via the Terminal.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 10:10 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
The HTG article is fine as it approaches both from trying to get into via the GUI and failing that, mount the drive via the Terminal.
Hi carnage! Lets hope the OP gets lucky and doesn't have to use the second option.
Thanks for your reply!
donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 11:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Alright, I just picked up a new HDD from staples, and i'm working on setting up a new bootable Ubuntu USB drive. Apparently my old one doesn't want to work anymore lol It goes as far as the Ubuntu splash screen, and just keeps trying to load without being able to go further.

I've been able to get the BIOS to pick up the old drive fairly consistently lately, so i'm hoping I will be able to clone it onto the new drive. Just in case that doesn't work out though, i'll be trying to pull off whatever files I can to minimize my loss.

Also, thank you for that link donetao, saved me the work of finding a good guide to work from
Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 11:26 AM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Would definitely suggest trying to pull off individual files/folders first, before attempting a clone.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 01:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Would definitely suggest trying to pull off individual files/folders first, before attempting a clone.
Yes I agree, I did recommend this in earlier posts, but maybe the OP never read..
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 05:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Quote:
Originally Posted by i2D__ View Post
Yes I agree, I did recommend this in earlier posts, but maybe the OP never read..
No worries, I did read your posts, but I had planned to pull off my files before attempting a clone anyway. I appreciate all the help you guys have given me on this.

I got Ubuntu up and running, and it picked up the HDD with no issues. I pulled off all the important files I could track down, and I actually have it working on cloning it to the new drive now. Although with the amount of used space I have on the old drive... I think it should take around 20 hours lol. Hopefully after waiting for so long, it will have actually worked.

Now to play some Banished on my laptop to kill time...
Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 05:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Good luck, let us know how it turns out.

After you get it cloned over and verified it's working, you could format the old drive and run a chkdsk /f /r on it to find/repair bad sectors. If there's quite a few, then you could just use it as an extra or trash it. If it doesn't find much in bad sectors...then I suppose you could always use it as a storage drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 08:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Ausaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 62
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Well, there was an interesting (frustrating) turn of events...

The cloning process finished, and once I saw that it had only copied 502GB (there was about 840GB used on the old drive), I knew it wasn't going to work. I decided to try and boot it up anyway, but it just gives me a black screen saying the drive cannot be booted and gives a generic list of possible reasons. Being ok with that, as I had expected it wouldn't work, I decided to put in my windows 7 installation disk and just do a clean install - but when I try, it almost immediately cancels it and starts spewing pop-ups saying "X" file/folder is corrupt or unreadable, so the installation was cancelled. I also tried doing a repair install, and it did the same thing.

Did trying to clone the old HDD somehow corrupt the new one? Is there a way for me to format the disk and get it to a state where I would be able to run a clean install?

I almost had an anxiety attack when I started seeing the word "corrupted" in all those pop-ups.

S.O.S. Please send help lol
Ausaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 09:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Enid Oklahoma
Posts: 331
Default Re: "A disk read error occurred"

Hi I'm sure other members will respond. What media are you using to do a clean install?
Are you trying to install windows on the defective HDD?? Did you disconnect the old HDD?
you have a new HDD and can't install Windows??
__________________

donetao is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
disk read error occurred message help raverx3m Microsoft Windows and Software 11 02-13-2010 02:02 AM
A disk read error occurred Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart Preacher Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-08-2007 01:22 AM
"a disk read error has occurred" cream_cheese Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 11-04-2006 12:58 PM
A Disk Read Error Occurred. Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart. HELP!!! consolemax_com Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 11-12-2005 10:17 AM
A Disk Read Error Occurred, Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart fingerprint Microsoft Windows and Software 3 01-25-2005 04:12 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.