disabling SMART - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 49
Default disabling SMART

when i boot up my laptop with an 80 gig harddrive, the SMART predicts a faliure. but the harddrive is still working just fine.

the question is, how do i disable SMART? (the faliure message annoys me) or if there is a way to find out what may be the problem so i can attemt to fix it.

disabling it from the bios wont work because i couldnt find anything in there that can turn it off.

any sugestions?
__________________

slavich is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Try going to start=>run=> and type "msconfig". Click on the "Startup" tab and see if you can find it and disable it. I'm not sure what SMART is, so i'm assuming it displays an error message once the OS loads up.
__________________

__________________
<A HREF=\"http://www.myspace.com/uatony\"><IMG BORDER=\"0\" SRC=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y155/runningfromvirginia/Specs.jpg\"></A>
LiQuid STATus is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 49
Default

thanks ill see if this works
SMART is some system monitiring device
slavich is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 11:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

You Cannot Disable SMART through msconfig. LOL.

There may be an option in CMOS Setup.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: disabling SMART

Quote:
Originally posted by slavich
when i boot up my laptop with an 80 gig harddrive, the SMART predicts a faliure. but the harddrive is still working just fine.

the question is, how do i disable SMART? (the faliure message annoys me) or if there is a way to find out what may be the problem so i can attemt to fix it.

disabling it from the bios wont work because i couldnt find anything in there that can turn it off.

any sugestions?
:freak: !?

The only way of disabling SMART is in the BIOS (if your BIOS allows this). Many don't. If there isn't an option in your BIOS to disable it, then unfortunately you can't.

The whole point of SMART is to warn you of a predicted hard drive failure before the failure occurs. It works using specific operating tolerances of your hard drive as guidelines, and if a tolerance is outside the normal operating boundaries, then SMART predict imminent failure and will warn you and prompt you to take action.

This is why your hard drive is working fine, for now...but not for long.

Don't suppress this SMART warning. Backup any important data as soon as you can. It may fail any time soon, and at that time, it will be too late to save any valuable data.

...After all, losing all your valuable data is far more annoying, than constantly being warned about it happening before hand.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 12:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 49
Default

first of all, i dont have any imprtant data i am afraid to loose.

and this smart warning never popped up on my other computer when i really did need a warning so all my data was lost back then.

well, if i cant disable it through bios, then i dont know what to do.

i am selling this thing anyway.
slavich is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 01:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default

I had to turn on my SMART settins through BIOS, because I would rather not loose all my music and videos and various other items that I really need to keep.
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.