disable surround sound - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2009, 02:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default disable surround sound

ok i know this might sound stupid but im looking to disable surround sound on my 5.1 system so all 5 speakers play the same sound.
i have audigy zs2 sound card and when i play music the lyrics come only from the fronts and the trable and everything else from the rears tried to play with the drivers but it didnt do anything,
anyone know a way to make all 5 speakers play the same thing without doing the surround ********?
__________________

NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,656
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: disable surround sound

In most media players there is an option to custom map speaker channels. Just assign each speaker all the channels.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 12:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: disable surround sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
In most media players there is an option to custom map speaker channels. Just assign each speaker all the channels.
yeah but what about if im wataching youtube?
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 04-22-2009, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,656
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: disable surround sound

The drivers you got for your sound should have come with an application to control the audio settings (such as eq, speaker setup, etc.) You might try looking in there for an option to either...
1. Set all channels to each speaker OR
2. change the output to mono.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
Soundcard or not? JB Rekit Computer Audio and Multimedia 33 09-14-2008 01:14 AM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
PS3 surround sound through computer sound card. JimJackson Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-13-2008 08:07 PM
Playing in Surround Sound Cunjo Microsoft Windows and Software 2 08-01-2007 02:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.