DirectDraw Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2006, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Lightbulb DirectDraw Error

A problem occurred initializing DirectDraw. Hardware acceleration maybe disabled, please run DXDIAG.

A few weeks ago, I tried to load the PC version of Halo on my computer. It had always loaded fine in the past, so why would it not this time? I was prompted to the above error, and I have tried everything to fix the problem. I installed DirectX 9.0, I re-installed the drivers, and still, the problem remains. I have games I want to play, and I cannot play them! Please help.
__________________

Kokuei is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 183
Default

Did you run dxdiag and let it do the tests?
__________________

wasisnt is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Yes. All the tests ran normaly, and dxdiag said there was no errors whatsoever.
Kokuei is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Download the latest version of DX and re-install.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 12:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default

I keep getting a "cannot create directdraw" error when I try to play streaming video in firefox. Would reinstalling DX fix my problem too?
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ASUS M2N32 Sli-Deluxe Wireless edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2)
Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Sata 2.0 HDD
Maxtor 200GB Sata 1.5 HDD
4GB (4x1GB) Kingston DDR2 PC6400 RAM
Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128 bit
Antec TruePower Quattro 850 PSU
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 03:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Matt08642
I keep getting a "cannot create directdraw" error when I try to play streaming video in firefox. Would reinstalling DX fix my problem too?
Maybe
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 01:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default

Nevermind, my error is "Cannot create DirectShow player"

__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ASUS M2N32 Sli-Deluxe Wireless edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2)
Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Sata 2.0 HDD
Maxtor 200GB Sata 1.5 HDD
4GB (4x1GB) Kingston DDR2 PC6400 RAM
Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128 bit
Antec TruePower Quattro 850 PSU
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 02:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

http://www.google.com/search?client=...utf-8&oe=utf-8
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 03:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

Try re-installing the game.
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 03-31-2006, 06:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I have tries re-installing the games, but it does the same thing. I have the updated dx, which is 9.0, TheMajor.
__________________

Kokuei is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.