Did not shut down properly?? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2005, 01:27 AM   #21 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Ok i downloaded the c version and i tryed the game same thing happened, no go.
__________________

dlb is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:28 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

also, what are your video settings in COD?
can you switch to Direct3D or OpenGL? Nvidia cards seem to work best on OpenGL
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:30 AM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

also, what drivers are you using?
it might be the particular version of drivers that's causing the problem
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:35 AM   #24 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Ok i couldnt change between dirct3d and open gl. How do i check what drivers i am using?
dlb is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:41 AM   #25 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Ok i checked in dxdiag it says that the main driver is nv4_disp.dll
dlb is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:05 AM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah that's the file name. right click on My Computer, go to properties, go to Hardware, then device manager.
in the new window go to display adapters, right click on your video card (your 6600) and go to properties, then click on "driver"
you'll see the driver version there

http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?id=10
here's a site with a lot of different versions of Nvidia's drivers. you can try one of these to see if it works.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 10:25 PM   #27 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Ok i went to that website but i dont no which driver to download to fix my problem.
dlb is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:22 PM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try any of them. Forceware drivers work on just about any Nvidia card (except for really old ones)
first try the later versions
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:37 PM   #29 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Alright I tryed a couple with no success. Anymore ideas I have no clue what could be causing this problem. On second thought does this have something to do with safe mode? I ask because the first window i get suggests me to start the game in safe mode.
dlb is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:44 PM   #30 (permalink)
dlb
Content Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Oh yeah one other thing is i can get into single player mode just not multiplayer.
__________________

dlb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.