did i short my mobo? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2005, 10:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to lord nikon007
Default

i took all the stuff out and stuck it into a completely different case...smaller power supply by 50W but still should have run and i still got the same thing. fans kicked up for a second and then died.

still think its the power supply or is the mobo really shot?
__________________

lord nikon007 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 03:01 AM   #12 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

take out all the extra card and other parts and start from basic. If the bare bones work (IE - CPU/HDD/fans,etc), then add a part. then if that works add another part, etc... until you find out if a part is acually faulty or not. it might just be that something was shorting out your system when completely built.

This very same thing happened to me at one time, and now that same mobo that I thought was dead, is now in my son's computer

Nukem
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 01:17 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 14
Default

I agree with Nukem, but you can take it right down to barer bones, pull all the bits out of your case, pop your mobo on an anti-static surface (just to eliminate the chance of your case shorting the board), plug in a video card, PSU and CPU (with HS/F), you don't even need RAM as far as I remember, ditch ALL of the drives and make sure the monitor is plugged in then power it up, that should eliminate a number of potential faults.
Add bits one by one, testing it by booting after each component added.

Hope that could be of use.
Blue_Nine is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 02:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to mx416
Default

Did you forget to put those pins on the case behind the mobo, so that it isn't sitting directly on the inside of the case. (I don't know what they're called, but someone must know what I mean)
mx416 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 06:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Spacers, posts, Standoffs, they have many names.

Just a word of caution, an anti-static surface could very well be conductive by nature. Those nice shiny bags that your mobo comes in look metalic for a reason, they are and they conduct electricity.

Just a wild stab in the dark. What position is your CMOS (BIOS) jumper in. I have heard of motherboards being shipped with the jumper in the shorted, or "Clear BIOS" setting. That could cause the problems that you have.
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 06:43 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Rich M
Default

Sounds like PSU ios the first thing I would be changing out!
Rich M is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 06:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

He already has, it is possible for 2 Supplies to be dead though, unless it is a known good one.
__________________

__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.