did i short my mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2005, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to lord nikon007
Default did i short my mobo?

i just bought a new case and moved all my hardware from the old one to the newer one but when i connected everything and pressed the power button the fans lit up for a second and then everything just died. i unhooked the optical drives and tried again..same thing. unhooked everything else and just had the mobo powered and still the same thing.

have i shorted the mobo from touching it too much or something?
__________________

lord nikon007 is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You probolly forgot the 4 pin molex power connector. Or the PSU had some charge, but it was not recieving power
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 12:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to lord nikon007
Default

yeah i have the 4 pin connector in place as i checked that one like first thing. in terms of the PSU getting no charge what can i do to fix it? will i have to get another board?
lord nikon007 is offline  
Old 08-13-2005, 06:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

i would say yes. becuz my first pc i ever assembled was built on my carpet...and it did that same thing u speak of....i RMA'd it and it worked fine afterwards...but that doesnt mean u shouldnt try a few other things first and rule them out ...
__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 01:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to lord nikon007
Default

but what else can i do to make sure that its not just my mobo thats jacked? i mean its cool with all the advice but what can i do to make sure that thats whats problem
lord nikon007 is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 07:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default

I'm unclear, were you grounded?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 11:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to lord nikon007
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KMOTE
I'm unclear, were you grounded?
i was sitting on the ground...i thought that counted as being grounded? but its not distributing power to the entire motherboard thats why i think theres a short somewhere.

and the screwdriver i used i think had a magnet in it. that affect anything?
lord nikon007 is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 12:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Are there any beeps?
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 04:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to lord nikon007
Default

no..no beeps..just a flash of lights from the fans and then it just shuts down
lord nikon007 is offline  
Old 08-14-2005, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Check your processor and bios chips are seated properly, and everything else come to think of it.

Always switch off the PC, unplug and touch the metal case before touching components. Handle components/ cards by their metal edges, normally chrome and not the edge connectors etc.

Doesn't sound good though.

Could be your power supply, as jerry 5739 said. Can you get hold of another to try?
__________________

__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.