Did i just? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2008, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Did i just?

fry my pc?

While i know this is stupid, I noticed one of my fans were disconnected while the system was rebooting, i went to plug in the module cables back together and a short shock went through the connections and the pc shut down. Did i fry my motherboard and psu? how can i tell?
__________________

objecterror is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Did i just?

One should never plug something in or unplug something while computer is on.

Power supply most likely shut off for protection reasons.

Why? Does it not turn on now?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Did i just?

Editing, The physical powersupply was dimming and losing power(if that's possible). Once before it went completely out, the machine just flickered off and booted back up, i suspected it being the psu then, now, the ATX is plugged in to the motherboard, a green light comes on, but the power supply isn't turning on. there is a possibility that I fried just the psu and not the mobo? I don't have an extra psu(iam going to buy two more when i get the chance now) but i do have an extra mobo which needs a processor, guess i'm buying both now.
objecterror is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: Did i just?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
One should never plug something in or unplug something while computer is on.

Power supply most likely shut off for protection reasons.

Why? Does it not turn on now?
i learned that the hard way, i was pullin a cd drive out, drive came out fine but i bumped the flopy power cable and sparks flew, good thing it was on a pc i got for free but no damage was done


try using a different power supply if you got one or just connect the on cables together in the atx connecor if psu comes on it might be a problem w/ your mobo


techPowerUp! :: How do I manually turn on an ATX power supply?
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: Did i just?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stalin90 View Post
i learned that the hard way, i was pullin a cd drive out, drive came out fine but i bumped the flopy power cable and sparks flew, good thing it was on a pc i got for free but no damage was done


try using a different power supply if you got one or just connect the on cables together in the atx connecor if psu comes on it might be a problem w/ your mobo


techPowerUp! :: How do I manually turn on an ATX power supply?
Good 'ol paperclip trick . Just make sure you have like a CD drive or a fan or something hooked up to it so you can test it.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: Did i just?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Good 'ol paperclip trick . Just make sure you have like a CD drive or a fan or something hooked up to it so you can test it.
Going to try this trick in a few, at worst i'm looking at the motherboard completely useless an possibly the hard drive?(say it ain't so)
__________________

objecterror is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.