Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2009, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

My 2000 Gateway was starting to run slow. I decided to upgrade the ram to see if that would give it some boost. I was sold the wrong kind of ram. It didn't quite fit into the slot. Since it was so similar it took me a bit to realize this. I booted the computer up and it was totally blank. I put everything back as it was and I rebooted the computer. Same result. My first thought was that I crashed the hard drive. I have another computer that has an issue with the resetstkoflw but I decided to swap the hard drive. Of course it didn't work but it did start to come up before it went blank. I am very new to working on computers and I have no idea what I did or how to fix it. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

acidhouse is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

when you say "it didnt quite fit into the slot" does that mean you forced it into the slot?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

Well if you had forced the RAM into the slots it is most likely that you damaged the mother board and there will be no way to fix it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

I honestly didn't think it was forced but it certainly could have been. It fit into the slot but I realized later it wasn't fully in. I placed it in one of the extra memory slots. Would the whole motherboard be damaged from damage to an unused memory slot? Assuming that I have destroyed the motherboard, what are my options? Thanks again for your help.
acidhouse is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 19
Default Re: Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by acidhouse View Post
I honestly didn't think it was forced but it certainly could have been. It fit into the slot but I realized later it wasn't fully in. I placed it in one of the extra memory slots. Would the whole motherboard be damaged from damage to an unused memory slot? Assuming that I have destroyed the motherboard, what are my options? Thanks again for your help.
Buy a new build, or, replace the motherboard if you can find it.
MTFBWY is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by acidhouse View Post
I honestly didn't think it was forced but it certainly could have been. It fit into the slot but I realized later it wasn't fully in. I placed it in one of the extra memory slots. Would the whole motherboard be damaged from damage to an unused memory slot? Assuming that I have destroyed the motherboard, what are my options? Thanks again for your help.
If everything is back how it was before and it is still not working then it is safe to assume some damage has been done to the hardware, maybe the RAM but more likely the motherboard. Tell us the model you have.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 07:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

It's a 2001/02 Gateway ATX.......700S
acidhouse is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

It won't be worth trying to replace the motherboard on that. If you can't get this one working for less than $50 (and I don't think you can) then get a new PC, you're well overdue.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 10:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by acidhouse View Post
I honestly didn't think it was forced but it certainly could have been. It fit into the slot but I realized later it wasn't fully in. I placed it in one of the extra memory slots. Would the whole motherboard be damaged from damage to an unused memory slot? Assuming that I have destroyed the motherboard, what are my options? Thanks again for your help.
If you couldnt just give it a little push, like enough to close a cardboard box, then it was forced in. It doesnt take much to snap a RAM chip into place. All it takes is just a very small push to put it in place.

So if you had to give it more than that, yes it was forced in. Which destroyed the slot and more than likely killed the mobo.

Yes damaging a RAM slot, even if previously unused, will take out a mobo.

Your options are few. Either Recycle the PC or trash it. Being a 8-9 year old PC there isnt going to be any chance to fix it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 11:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
TKF
True Techie
 
TKF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 123
Default Re: Did I fry the computer after a ram upgrade?

If I'm correct this MB has rdram (RAMBUS)which must be installed in pairs and all banks filled, either with 2 memory sticks and 2 blanks or 2 pairs of memory to run.
Also need to check MB spec.to find out which banks they need to be installed in.
hopes this helps you.
__________________

TKF is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
Warning: Building a computer may lead to nervous breakdown! White_Wolf Off Topic Discussion 18 04-09-2009 06:43 PM
can my computer take other types of ram besides pc-2700? akasixcon System Upgrades 4 02-25-2009 07:44 PM
An upgrade for a very old computer Idioteque New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-21-2007 02:09 AM
Medium computer upgrade. muman System Upgrades 6 09-14-2007 04:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.