Did I configure my SATA hard drives incorrectly? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2009, 12:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Did I configure my SATA hard drives incorrectly?

I have two SATA drives. In my Bios they are configured as RAID suggested/ATA. In my Device Manager they are listed under IDE/ATAPI controllers as primary and secondary IDE drives after my two Intel ICH9R SATA controllers The drivers for the device are Microsoft IDE drivers. I would like my SATA drives configured properly with the SATA drivers to the full benefit. When I tried to Install the Matrix Storage Manager I got a "system doesn't meet the minimum requirements" error. When I installed XP I used a service pack two slip streamed disk and did not do an F6 driver install. How do properly install the drivers for my drives? Would the configuration I have right now cause audio to stream incorrectly from the hard drives? Thanks

I am running xp Pro Gold service pack 3.
I have a Dell XPS 420, 2.4 ghz Q6600, 1066 FSB, 4 gigs Ram at 800.
__________________

khjavy8 is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 12:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Did I configure my SATA hard drives incorrectly?

You don't need to install drivers unless it specifically asks for them at OS setup.

Is everything working as is? If it is, I wouldn't worry about it.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Did I configure my SATA hard drives incorrectly?

No, it isn't. I am wondering if since the drives show as ATA am i not getting full SATA capability. I use a lot of audio files becasue it is what i need the computer for. Streaming audio is not the problem it is when i pull filled stored on the hard drive. They stop and have to buffer a lot. They shouldnt do this with my system and SATA right? any thoughts?
khjavy8 is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Did I configure my SATA hard drives incorrectly?

Just do a windows update, if the chipset or sata drivers need updating it will show.

It also depends on how much your moving..
Ste is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Did I configure my SATA hard drives incorrectly?

already checked updates....so you or anyone doesnt think that even though my drive is really a SATA but the system has it listed as an ATA it is a problem...and it wont hinder how the system handles its performance?
khjavy8 is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 07:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Did I configure my SATA hard drives incorrectly?

on the 4 boards I have owned so far, they all default the drives as IDE mode, go into your bios and see if it is setup as IDE that will give your answer

if they are setup as IDE mode, you will need a reinstall of XP if you want to change to AHCI mode

however I highly doubt it since you have a Dell
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-29-2009, 09:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Did I configure my SATA hard drives incorrectly?

I find whether I'm running 16 tracks of audio at 32 bit 96 KHZ or just a stereo mp3 file I will get an intermittent "hiccup" every 10 or 20 minutes. help. it is driving me crazy.
__________________

khjavy8 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some help with copying PATA to SATA hard drives nukeman8 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-29-2008 07:31 AM
Installing two sata drives non raid Mach1threat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 08-26-2008 11:27 AM
Raid0 hard drives: worth it? sharrakor New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-08-2008 04:38 PM
need help with sata hard drive busa4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 11-05-2007 02:19 AM
SATA hard drive not recognized in Windows XP setup bcase21 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-31-2007 12:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.