DHCP error..... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2009, 01:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4
Default DHCP error.....

is there any command line repairs that can be done for dhcp related issues in windows?

in a work environment ive come across 2 machines now in the last month that have had the same problem. using xp, dhcp fails on the client (on different networks as well). the pc gets the usual 'limited connectivity' error and is assigned a 169.x.x.x address.....

when on any network and booted with a linux live cd, everything works fine via dhcp...straight out of the box. put it back on xp, and a static ip, dns and default gateway entry and all works fine. switch it to dhcp and no go....

the main network it has been tested on has 2 switches and a brand new dhcp/dns server. all other machines on the network are fine and when tested in this particular room are also fine. this rules out the cable, patch point, switch, server and hardware.

the ONLY thing that remains to be the problem is xp. so, what to do next??? format, reimage, YES. done that.....same problem! im baffled....can anyone think os what the cause could possibly be? i didnt know any client dhcp repair commands so i thought reimage and away we go but no...nothing.
__________________

JET-33 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: DHCP error.....

have you checked all settings in the image... and I take it it's only this one machine?

Edit... I re-read your post... yes it's only this one machine... which I would have to say it's something in that image... (settings, or something didn't apply,etc...) or a hardware issue.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4
Default Re: DHCP error.....

i used the term 'image' loosely...its rebuilt from scratch, drivers reinstalled and reinstalled over again....

device manager shows the network card as OK. reinstalled again anyway. static ip and everything is ok, just doesnt want to obtain one via dhcp
JET-33 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 01:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: DHCP error.....

I take it you also updated the network card drivers. What about wireless? can you try to connect that way, instead of hard wired? are there any hotfixes for the card in windows you need?
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 01:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4
Default Re: DHCP error.....

yeah network card drivers is what i was referring to. the pc only has 1 network port built in, no wireless.

is it possible for a hardware fault to cause a card to only work via static and not dynamic/dhcp?
JET-33 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 01:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: DHCP error.....

Anything is possible with IT... it's all PMF anyway (Pure F.....ng Magic) but if one little tiny resistor is gone, it can cause all kinds of faults, or none...

but to be honest... since you have done pretty much everything you can do software wise... the only thing left to rule out is hardware... do you have a nic that you can throw in it, and shut off the onboard?
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4
Default Re: DHCP error.....

that will be the next step if we dont throw it in the bin and upgrade

just thought id check to see if there was any unknown tricks i didnt know but there doesnt seem to be....
JET-33 is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 02:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: DHCP error.....

not that I have searched for and we have some VERY good IT types on here...

Sorry 'bout that...
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to troubleshoot specific STOP Errors KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 15 05-20-2009 03:22 PM
Wired, Non Router, Game Connecting Problem reggordon Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 01-10-2009 03:31 AM
Decoding STOP Errors KSoD Official TF Tutorials 0 12-06-2008 11:06 PM
Recurring BSOD Kritikal Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 05-07-2008 09:28 PM
Possible Corrupted/Infected Files. xXxexpertxXx Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 03-12-2008 01:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.