Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2007, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location
Posts: 185
Default Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

I received my motherboard, case, and wireless card in the mail today. I got these:
Newegg.com - ASUS P5N-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - TRENDnet TEW-443PI IEEE 802.11b/g 32-bit PCI 2.2 Bus Master Wireless Adapter up to 108Mbps Data Rates 64/128-Bit WEP (Hex or ASCII), WPA/WPA2, WPA-PSK/WPA2-PSK - Retail

The mobo has 2 PCI slots, and the add on card is PCI. On the motherboard, the two white slots are the PCI slots. I have tried inserting the card into both slots and it doesn't go in all the way. I am afraid I am going to break the slots, if I haven't done so already.

If you look at the pictures, the wireless card has a connector like this:
|___| |_____________| |___|
but the slots on the motherboard are like this:
|__________________| |___|


What is going on here?
__________________

UsernameTaken is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 08:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

It's supposed to fit. Just push it in harder. There might be some pins showing at the top of the slot.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 11:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location
Posts: 185
Default Re: Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

Ok thanks. I don't have all my parts yet so hopefully some stuff will be cleared up later.

Quick question. I have this case
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-KKN2-GP Black Aluminum & Mesh bezel / SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

The fans have cables that end in a little 3 block-type pin connector, and these connectors are plugged into a sort of extension thing that ends in a big 4 pin connector. I have the little 3 pin connectors but not the 4 pin ones on my motherboard. Does this have something to do with any sort of fan controller or something? Should I just plug them in without the included extender thing? I will take pictures if needed.
UsernameTaken is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 03:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

plug the fans into your motherboard using the 3 pin connectors, you're right it is for fan control. This can be set in the BIOS or programs are available to do this in Windows. The four pin Molex adapters are provided for people whoese motherbaords dont have those 3 pin connectors. Hope this helps
koosie is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 12:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

or if you want to run them from the PSU
Nick is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 06:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location
Posts: 185
Default Re: Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

Thanks. Everything came today. Good news it POSTed fine! So it looks like I did everything alright.

I just want to make sure, you don't apply thermal paste if you use stock heatsink/fan correct?

Is there anything I should check? I want to make sure my computer doesn't explode or anything.

My BIOS isn't the most recent version but it's the version that added support for my CPU. Do I have to make changes in the BIOS for my memory or anything? I put in basic settings like SMART HDD and stuff that I knew what it was.
UsernameTaken is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 06:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by UsernameTaken View Post
I just want to make sure, you don't apply thermal paste if you use stock heatsink/fan correct?
Sometimes, the stockers will come with a thermal pad on the heat sink..... Did you look to MAKE SURE that there was something there? If there isn't, you could fry the CPU, if it hasn't already been damaged.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 07:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location
Posts: 185
Default Re: Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
Sometimes, the stockers will come with a thermal pad on the heat sink..... Did you look to MAKE SURE that there was something there? If there isn't, you could fry the CPU, if it hasn't already been damaged.
It's a good thing I only turned it on to set up the BIOS then shut it off... Hope it was good enough that I didn't fry anything.

I was running the PC without the side panels or front panl because I wanted to make sure it POSTed before I put everything back together.

I just removed the heatsink and theres some gray stuff on the bottom of it and on the CPU where they meet. Is this the pad/paste or is this a sign that I screwed up? It's gray and you can wipe it off your finger, I touched it and the tiniest bit came off.
UsernameTaken is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 08:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,403
Default Re: Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

That is the thermal paste Ethereal was talking about... don't wipe it off unless you have something better/equal to put on it. I'd just reinstall it and call it a day.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is online now  
Old 09-07-2007, 08:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location
Posts: 185
Default Re: Desktop WiFi Card Doesn't Fit In PCI Slot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post
That is the thermal paste Ethereal was talking about... don't wipe it off unless you have something better/equal to put on it. I'd just reinstall it and call it a day.
Thank you

My next upgrade will be either more case fans and a Zalman CPU cooler, or possibly watercooling but I doubt that because it seems like a big hassle. Whichever one is cheaper really. When I do that I'll put on some really nice thermal paste from the Thermal Paste Wars thread.
__________________

UsernameTaken is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PCI Slot Case Cooler CPonder14 Overclocking and Modding 2 09-05-2007 03:54 PM
Conflict between PCI Video card and PCI Wireless Network Adapter otaku_mike Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-13-2007 01:01 PM
Sandisk memory card will not work in my laptop , but i have the slot for it???? chaznad Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-26-2007 08:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.