Desktop turns on automatically?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2009, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Desktop turns on automatically??

Hey everyone i was wondering what would cause a desktop CPU to power on automatically when you l plug the power cable in the PSU. I noticed that the Front soft power button doesnt work either. The only way to turn it off and on is to do so with the PSU power switch on the back of the PC. And also theirs no video when it turns on either. I switched the Video card but it still doesn't work. I did a hard reset (Remove CMOS battery and hold down the power button) but it still doesn't work. However i did messaround a little with the soft power switch cables that plug into the MOBO. would the soft power switch not being plugged in correctly cause this to happen?
__________________

808Alaska is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Desktop turns on automatically??

The cables for the power switch are not attached to the mother board properly. Check the mother board manual to find out where the cables should be attached on the mobo properly and it should fix your issue.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 10:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: Desktop turns on automatically??

Ok. and what about the no video issue? is the motherboard shot. if i tried two different video cards and both didnt work?
808Alaska is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 10:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Desktop turns on automatically??

The only thing i can think of would be that the BIOS is set to use onboard not the card.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: Desktop turns on automatically??

Oh and i forgot to mention that i also tried using the on board also and that didn't work. is it possible for just the PCI-express slot/video card controller on the mother board to have shorted somehow?
808Alaska is offline  
Old 09-24-2009, 08:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Desktop turns on automatically??

Well that depends, did you not ground yourself properly when installing it? Did you not use the brass standoffs? Cause for sure if you didnt then yes can be the answer. But if you have then it is most unlikely.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-24-2009, 09:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: Desktop turns on automatically??

it didnt work. I tried plugging in the front soft power switches in every which way possible and i even tried without then even plugged into the MOBO and it still turned on automatically.

and yes i had proper grounding and it was a prebuilt computer that worked before so i dont see what's causing this issue. how exactly does a front soft power switch work on a computer?
808Alaska is offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 05:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Desktop turns on automatically??

Quote:
Originally Posted by 808Alaska View Post
it didnt work. I tried plugging in the front soft power switches in every which way possible and i even tried without then even plugged into the MOBO and it still turned on automatically.

and yes i had proper grounding and it was a prebuilt computer that worked before so i dont see what's causing this issue. how exactly does a front soft power switch work on a computer?
With ATX-type motherboards, there is a constant voltage to the motherboard from the PSU, and when the power switch is pressed, the switch sends a signal to the CPU to start the computer. There is more that goes on after that, but that is the basic CPU/switch relationship.

EDIT: I want to add that the switch does not actually "power up" the system, it merely sends a signal to the CPU to activate the system via that ever present voltage I mentioned above.
oldskool is offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 02:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 146
Default Re: Desktop turns on automatically??

Ok but i even tried to leave everything plugged in except the front soft power switch and it still turned on automatically. is that indicating that its more then just a little switch problem? possibly a Motherboard problem?
808Alaska is offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 02:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Desktop turns on automatically??

I doubt it it's not out of the realms of possibility but it could happen, walk us through what you did step by step and any changes you have made to your system you have made and we might get closer to a solution.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Portable Desktop Search Software TheSearchMan Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 08-03-2009 10:45 AM
Create Website Desktop Shortcuts In Firefox Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-18-2009 11:22 AM
HELP! Desktop turns on and restarts repeatedly, other turns on to black screen cvocvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-31-2007 01:21 AM
friends really bad log..needs some major help here. Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 12-07-2007 09:44 AM
Desktop Fans Speed HussRam Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-04-2007 01:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.