Desktop Has No Display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2006, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default Desktop Has No Display

Have a desktop computer here that was using an integrated video adapter, but that went bad, so i installed a AGP video card, still no display, then tried to install PCI video card, same no display, is there anything else i can try, or is the motherboard bad ?
__________________

__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

does your motherboard have on-board vga card ?
__________________

djb is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default

the adapter is near all the serial and parallel ports, if thats what u mean.
__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

where you plug your monitor ?
djb is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default

i first plugged in my monitor into the onboard video adapter which is VGA, no display, installed a AGP card,plugged monitor into VGA on the AGP card, no display, took the AGP card out, installed a PCI card, plugged monitor into VGA on the PCI card, no display
__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 01:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

you need to disable the on-board vga card my friend... usually this you can make it from the bios. but if the vga is not working, this means you can't go to bios and disable the vga on-board. also there is another way to disable the vga on-board. with jumper settings. so check out the manual of the motherboard, or if you don't have it, search in the web page of the motherboard for a manual to find how to disable the vga with jumpers. if you got any news, post! good work !!
djb is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to V-tek
Default

checked mobo manual, no jumper setting to disable the vga on-board...so i guess this comp is doomed

Also tried swapping out the PSU, thinkin the it was dying, no good either.
__________________
Must be a computing error
V-tek is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
djb
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 64
Default

try to reset your motherboard to the default settings with the jumpers. after this, try to boot with only the on-board vga, and after with an agp. maybe there is a setting to ignore the on-board and recognise a vga on the pci bus.
__________________

djb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.