desktop dont start properly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2011, 04:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6
Send a message via MSN to Compuskill_IT
Default desktop dont start properly

I've got a custom build computer at home. i've had it for 2 years now and suddenly whenever i turn the computer on the screen doesn't start with the computer.
The screen defiantly works, just not on the computer. does anyone know what could be causing this?
i am gonna assume its the graphs card but i dont wanna buy a new one to find i am wrong
__________________

Compuskill_IT is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: desktop dont start properly

Does it eventually turn on? You said it doesn't start with the computer.

Do you hear the rest of the computer start up? fans go on, hear a single beep?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: desktop dont start properly

Do you hear any beep codes? Does everything powerup/spin like MoM said?

I would start out by trying and taking out all expansion cards, and leave only 1 stick of RAM in. Disconnect all hard drives and optical drives as well. Also, do you have onboard graphics you can test?

I would also look into how long your warranty is on all your components; maybe you can RMA some of them if they turn out to be faulty.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 02:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6
Send a message via MSN to Compuskill_IT
Default Re: desktop dont start properly

i have completly stripped the system and rebuild in every possable way. this motherboard does not have intergrated graphics, just an attachment for the board so i've started with and without the card mounted. everything starts, beeps, lights flash etc but the screen just never comes on. this is the 2nd computer that i've had that has done this. i am not sure if there is an onboard graphics test as the screen does not even come on for the BIOS
Compuskill_IT is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 02:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: desktop dont start properly

What is your motherboard make and model?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 02:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6
Send a message via MSN to Compuskill_IT
Default Re: desktop dont start properly

its a gigabyte ga-81848PM intel board
Compuskill_IT is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 03:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: desktop dont start properly

Try resetting BIOS. Turn off the system. Take the watch battery out for a few minutes. Put it back in, and try again to boot.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 03:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6
Send a message via MSN to Compuskill_IT
Default Re: desktop dont start properly

done that about 15 times to be sure but still not working
Compuskill_IT is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 03:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: desktop dont start properly

Hmmm... Did you run it with one stick of RAM? Or try it in different slots? Could be bad RAM or a bad slot.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 03-01-2011, 03:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 6
Send a message via MSN to Compuskill_IT
Default Re: desktop dont start properly

I've tried it with about 6 different individual rams on all channels and in all possible combinations
__________________

Compuskill_IT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Background desktop not displaying properly and getting knocked off the Internet Instrumediatech Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 08-27-2009 08:47 AM
PC will not start properly qutuz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 02-08-2009 08:52 AM
Windows XP Wont start up properly When booting NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 17 01-29-2009 12:59 PM
IE and MSN dont work properly jayboi2005 Microsoft Windows and Software 13 02-06-2006 08:12 PM
Dont know where to start! ki9090 Linux and Open Source 5 08-19-2005 11:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.