Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2009, 06:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Exclamation Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen

I left my laptop on for 4-5 hours today while doing something else ( i do this every once in a while..no problems) when I came back to it, I opened it and it was a blank screen, no icons would come up or anything so I turned it off, i went to start it again and it loads past the xp splash screen than the blank black screen comes up loading windows and it freezes at that black screen, i tried to boot into safe mode and got a blue screen error message

laptop is Dell Vostro 1400 running XP

thanks
__________________

bobbyfk is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 07:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen

can you post the stop error you received on the BSOD?

Here is what we need.
http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 12:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen

I have always performed a repair installation for this. It seems like each time it has been due to a corrupted Windows file.

Repair Windows XP - How to Perform a Repair Installation of Windows XP - Part 1 of 2
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
can you post the stop error you received on the BSOD?

Here is what we need.
http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/
error message is:
stop: C0000021a (fatal system error)
the windows logon process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of Oxc00000022 (0X000000000 0X000000000)
the system has been shut down
bobbyfk is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 04:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen

Yeah hit up the repair option Trot posted.

Bug Check 0x22: FILE_SYSTEM

The FILE_SYSTEM bug check has a value of 0x00000022.

This bug check appears very infrequently.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
I have always performed a repair installation for this. It seems like each time it has been due to a corrupted Windows file.

Repair Windows XP - How to Perform a Repair Installation of Windows XP - Part 1 of 2
i never got the XP CD with my computer
bobbyfk is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 04:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen

See if you have a friend with an oem copy of xp or call dell for a replacement.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 04:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
See if you have a friend with an oem copy of xp or call dell for a replacement.
dell cant help because my computer is out of warranty
bobbyfk is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 08:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dell Won't load Past Splash Screen

Dell should still be able to provide you with a replacement. It may cost you some money but it should still be a option.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dell inspiron 700m lcd screen dim raverx3m Laptops and Notebooks 12 08-05-2009 12:11 PM
Windows Screen Shots Software Screenie Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 5 07-19-2009 07:21 PM
Acer Aspire will not go past logo screen bryced875 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 07-04-2009 02:32 PM
Triple monitors sans Xinerama? Greg Linux and Open Source 3 07-06-2007 01:55 PM
Xp taking forever to load.. Car Computer.. help!! ryanrs Microsoft Windows and Software 19 06-28-2007 07:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.