Dell Optiplex Gx280 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2011, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Dell Optiplex Gx280

Hi Ppl

Ive got a Dell Optiplex GX280 As A Second PC

CPU : Intel Pentium 4 @ 2.8Ghz - 1mb l2 cache - 800mhz fsb Socket LGA775
Memory : 3GB DDR2 - As Soon as It Arrives
HDD - 320GB Sata
Motherboard : Dell 0C7195 With Chipset Intel i915/915G Rev B1

Im looking at adding a Pentium D 3.0Ghz Socket 775 CPU to replace the p4 ?

is this possible .. ??

K5146 U4100 FG114 H7276 | Dell Optiplex Gx280 Motherboard G5611 this is all i can find on this motherboard ??

Cheers
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 11-04-2011, 08:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Dell Optiplex Gx280

Here's the manual for it: Documentation

Looking further online, it can use these chips:

Quote:
D7459 Prescott P4 Kit, 520, 2.8Ghz, 800FSB, 1MB
DD517 Prescott P4 64bit Kit, 521, 2.8Ghz, 800FSB, 1MB
D7460 Prescott P4 Kit, 530, 3.0Ghz, 800FSB, 1MB
DD519 Prescott P4 64bit Kit, 541, 3.2Ghz, 800FSB, 1MB
D7462 Prescott P4 Kit, 540, 3.2Ghz, 800FSB, 1MB
D7463 Prescott P4 Kit, 550, 3.4Ghz, 800FSB, 1MB
M8964 Prescott P4 Kit, 550, 3.4Ghz, 800FSB, 1MB
D7464 Prescott P4 Kit, 560, 3.6Ghz, 800FSB, 1MB
M8965 Prescott P4 Kit, 570, 3.8Ghz, 800FSB, 1MB
Hope that helps
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 04:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Dell Optiplex Gx280

damm .... cheers ...

will i notice a difference going from a intel pentium 4 520 2.8 1mb cache 800fsb to a Pentium 4 541 3.2ghz 1mb cache 800fsb 64bit ? would it be worth it ????

Cheers
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 08:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Dell Optiplex Gx280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd2800 View Post
will i notice a difference going from a intel pentium 4 520 2.8 1mb cache 800fsb to a Pentium 4 541 3.2ghz 1mb cache 800fsb 64bit ? would it be worth it ????
Pretty much none at all, and no. Unless you can get the higher-clocked one for like, $1.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 10:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Dell Optiplex Gx280

what so if i put a 3.4ghz in ?? will i notice a difference ??

Cheers
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 11:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Dell Optiplex Gx280

You're not going to get much (if any) noticeable performance increase going from a Pentium 4 to a higher-clocked Pentium 4. It's just too old.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Dell Optiplex Gx280

ima take the risk and try and put a newer pentium cpu in it . like a 3.6ghz 2mb cache 800mhz fsb . chip or a pentium D 3.0Ghz / 4mb l2 / 800mhz and see what happens

cheers
__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 11-05-2011, 01:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Dell Optiplex Gx280

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd2800 View Post
or a pentium D 3.0Ghz / 4mb l2 / 800mhz and see what happens
According to the list Mindovermaster posted in the first reply to this thread, your motherboard will only take Pentium 4 CPUs. A Pentium D is very unlikely to work.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-07-2011, 06:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Dell Optiplex Gx280

It all depends on the year the optiplex gx280 was made, and which STYLE (desktop/slim/fulltower), I have SEVERAL that have Pentium D processors, but the motherboards are changed very often on that particular model from Dell. They have some 280s that are 10 years old, or older.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-09-2011, 12:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Default Re: Dell Optiplex Gx280

Just finished putting Intel Pentium 4 650 CPU 3.4GHZ 2M cache in a Dell Dimension 3100/E310 with a intel 915G chipset this is 64bit HT processor it is the fastest you could use with a larger cache. It replaced a Pentium 4 2.8GHZ 1M cache.... takes only Prescott CPU
__________________

gto1970 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Optiplex GX280 Fan Issue jairic Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-30-2008 10:04 PM
optiplex gx280, not booting, not posting akkid Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-19-2008 12:05 AM
Getting a Dell GX280 close to free, Modding it. Eclipse7 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 12-09-2007 07:43 PM
Dell Optiplex alyson Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-20-2004 11:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.