Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2008, 08:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD.

I had two 330's here. I made an image on one and using a cloning machine, cloned the other. The other works fine, but all of the sudden the original one started acting up and blue screening once the XP splash screen appears.

I know it is not the hard drive or memory because I just ran a 12 hour memtest using an Ubuntu Live CD, and it passed with no errors. I also swapped out the SATA hard drives from the other Optiplex 330, and both drives in the good Optiplex work fine where both drives in the BSOD Optiplex still BSOD... So I'm leaning towards motherboard, however, I don't have a motherboard tester nor the other Optiplex to swap boards with to check because the other Optiplex has already been deployed to a teacher.

So now my question is, what's the likelyhood of it being the motherboard? I formatted the hard drive using Gparted in the Ubuntu Live CD, then booted to the XP CD. It'll load everything and once it says "Setup is loading Windows..." which would give you the EULA, it just blue screens.

Any ideas offhand while I continue to google?
__________________

Jayce is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 09:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD.

Does it give any error codes? What does it say when it blue screens?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 09:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD.

It says the usual BS, about there being a detected problem and it shut down to prevent damage.

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0x00000007B (0xF78D2524, 0xc0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

I also thought maybe I goofed up a BIOS setting, even though I wasn't in there much, so I pulled the plug and the CMOS battery. I booted up, BIOS freaked out saying a time wasn't set, so I reset the time. Then, booted to the XP CD. BSOD.

edit - I'm installing Ubuntu now, just for the sake of seeing how another OS acts installed on it.

edit again - I'm on Ubuntu Intrepid 32 bit right now. It runs absolutely fine.
Jayce is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD.

That stop error is caused by the Mass Storage Drive gone missing. Seems that when the image was created that the driver got corrupted. Here is the full information on that Stop Error code:

Bug Check 0x7B: INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE

The INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE bug check has a value of 0x0000007B. This bug check indicates that the Microsoft Windows operating system has lost access to the system partition during startup.

Check this page for information on how to fix it:

Bug Check 0x7B: INACCESSIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 09:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD.

I just switched the system to ATA mode and it worked. It's evident that Vista had the AHCI driver pre-installed whereas XP didn't, seeing as though these systems came from Dell with Vista on them but we took them to XP Pro. But my real question is, why does the other system work? I didn't change anything, so it's assumed it would be in SATA mode still... but where's the AHCI driver required to make that happen? I know I certainly didn't install it...

Once this 330 gets up and running I'm going to swap it out with the other "working" 330 in question. I just got word it's actually not in use just yet. I need to look at this for myself.
Jayce is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:11 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD.

I would suspect that it isnt working. I would think that SATA Is enabled still but the system hasnt been booted to get this issue.

There is a way to enalbe ACHI after XP is installed. I thik i gave the link in one of your Linux thread.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 11:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

AHCI isn't really necessary for these computers. These computers are going to be assigned to certain students for 2-3 months at a time in their home to allow them to do school work remotely, which is normally with students who can't come to school (illness, bad behavior, etc). So they're constantly being formatted, and the bells and whistles aren't really necessary.

But thanks again, Mak. I can't believe I didn't think of it, but once you said driver I looked at the Dell and sure enough, a Vista sticker was on the front. That's what triggered me to be like, oh! duh!

Hmm... this is truly a mystery.

This is what it boils down to...

Two Dell Optiplex 330's
Both have the same brand SATA 160gb HDD
Both were set up identically (using a cloner)
Both had the same copy of XP Pro SP2 installed

One is in IDE mode.
The other is in AHCI mode.

Both of them work. But the one in IDE mode, if it's set to AHCI mode like the other one (which works), then it will no longer work.

What... the.. djfakls;djfalks
Jayce is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 02:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD.

Now that is strange that one had ACHI disabled. must have been who ever setup the OS turned it off for some reason. Gotta love those techs...
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 05:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD.

I find it hard to believe that two Dell's coming off of the assembly line were configured differently. I know I didn't change it. This is weird... but nonetheless, whatever works.

At least they're functional!
Jayce is offline  
Old 11-11-2008, 10:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Dell Optiplex 330 - BSOD while loading XP CD.

It all depends really. Maybe the one tech didnt know that Vista could work with ACHI enabled. Maybe he is so used to XP not being able to use ACHI that he disabled it. I know that my dell inspiron 1501 didnt have ACHI enabled. Cause it installed XP without any drivers or tinkering.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD repeatedly upon loading windows Squirtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 10-11-2008 01:02 PM
Dell Releases Bios Updates For Several Nvidia Video Cards Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 07-30-2008 12:41 PM
Dell Optiplex GX280 Fan Issue jairic Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-30-2008 10:04 PM
Will PQI Brand Turbo 1GB PC2 5400 DDR SDRAM modules work w/ Dell Optiplex GX270? mrspendnot System Upgrades 3 11-27-2007 07:36 PM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.