Dell Dimension 4400 w/XP Won't Boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2009, 08:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Default Dell Dimension 4400 w/XP Won't Boot

Dell Dimension 4400 w/XP Won't Boot.

This one powers up but won't boot. Won't boot from Floppy or CD/DVD. I took all the pci cards out, removed the ram, disconnected the floppy and HDD, and turned it on... I didn't get any post codes except the four LED's in the rear of the case stayed green.

I replaced the cmos battery just in case... the message with just the HDD connected is: Boot Failure: System Halted. I also tried a linux live CD, but of course it wouldn't boot. I can't access the BIOS settings. It has Dell BIOS A06.

I tried my P.O.S.T. (Microscope 2000) card and it showed "EA" as the code, but I couldn't find anything on that code in Google.

My daughter gave me 3 non-working computers and this is the last of them.

Any Ideas?

zaarenoc is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
eyeCpc's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Dell Dimension 4400 w/XP Won't Boot

The first mistake was removing all of the memory. You should have at least one dimm tested in each slot with the video card still in as well.

The fresh battery was a smart move there however since those go from time to time. With each dimm tried out if you still run into the boot failure message the drive or cable it is on should be replaced to find out or rule out there.

The first thing however is putting back one dimm to reach the first post screen since no memory equals immediate system stall there.

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 09:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
philbar71's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Dell Dimension 4400 w/XP Won't Boot

ya your system will not post without ram. it wont hurt to run mem test to see if the ram is bad, also try a different dvd drive and hdd from another pc.

The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD


<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Laptop - Asks to dual boot, has only 1 OS USAF Long Microsoft Windows and Software 7 09-13-2008 07:12 AM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 08:36 AM
Dell refuses to boot from CD Cunjo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-15-2008 01:42 PM
old dell dimension 8100 wont boot Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 07-13-2007 09:11 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.