Dell Desktop - Blinking Amber Light - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 10-31-2010, 05:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Dell Desktop - Blinking Amber Light

I'm a computer repair novice, so please be gentle with me.

I have an older Dell Dimension 8400 that won't power up. I came home a couple of days ago to find the power button blinking amber. When I push the power button nothing happens. If I press and hold it down, the blinking stops and the computer completely powers down. However, if I press the power button again, it just blinks amber and won't power up.

I have tried unplugging the computer and keeping it unplugged for several hours, both when the light is blinking and when the light is not blinking. Once I plug it back in and push the power button, the amber blinking starts again.

I read in a couple of forums that the problem could be the PSU, so I replaced the PSU with brand new one. This did nothing to solve the problem. When the light is blinking amber, there is solid green light on the motherboard.

Should I replace the motherboard or junk the computer and purchase a new one? Or is there another possible solution to my problem?

This problem happened once before a couple of weeks ago. After pressing the power button numerous times and tapping the keyboard in between, the computer did finally power up, and a message briefly appeared on the screen that read, preparing to hibernate, before it powered up. I did recently activate the hibernate options on the computer, and I realize now that I shouldn't have done so with a desktop.

Help!

Old 10-31-2010, 07:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description

Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Dell Desktop - Blinking Amber Light

Try running with bare essentials, PSU, Motherboard, GFX, one stick of RAM. Everything else, take off.