Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2007, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI

I'm running a Dell 2405FPW 24" lcd on a radeon x1300 pro, and right now, via analog. With anaolog I'm able to get the recommended 1920 x 1200 resolution, but when I go to DVI I need to "force" the resolution, and when I set it to that forced res it does the "zoomed in desktop" thing where the screen pans as you hover over the corners, so at any time I'm seeing maybe 1/4 of the desktop. Might be 1920 x 1200 but it could fill up a 40" screen.

At first I thought the vid card wasn't powerful enough for that resolution, but I've read everywhere that it's fine. I read somewhere that the monitor has some chip or something in it that tells the card or the computer what it is and what settings are or should be? Well, when I go into ATI Catylist, the selected display, running at 1920 x 1200 is labelled "hp f50 [ Single ]". Could this be the problem? All dell drivers are up to date, and nothing seems to change that HP listing, and that seems to be what's limiting all of my settings.

It's a refurb that I got dirt cheap from someone my dad knows at dell, so it's pretty much up to me to figure out what's going on - no exchanges or dell support or anything. I'm guessing it's just missing or has broken whatever should be telling the video card what monitor it is, but that may not even be possible. Basic XP display props say it's the dell 24" on the x1300, it's just catylist that refuses to change from HP.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone

regeisle is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 11:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556
Default Re: Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI

try reinstalling the video drivers after you plug the monitor in using DVI

Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 08:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default Re: Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI

tried that, as well as before. still no luck
regeisle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolution stuck in 1024x768 after install Radeon drivers.. mack Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-14-2007 11:03 PM
Full Internet Channel Now Available for Wii Osiris Nintendo 0 04-12-2007 07:44 AM
Resolution change for fullscreen video? Broom Microsoft Windows and Software 0 03-31-2007 11:16 PM
PC Keeps Defaulting To 1024 X 768 Resolution changintimes Microsoft Windows and Software 7 03-26-2007 04:50 PM
Fraps demo to Full Landis PC Gaming 3 03-25-2007 08:49 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.