dell - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2006, 07:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default dell

My dell is having issues. There are several but I really need help with the first one:

Can't get it to boot from a CD (to install windows).
It says the drive is "(not installed)" in the BIOS. Checked the cables, reseated them, same result. Then I tried a USB based CD burner and got the same result. I can't get it to do anything cuz it just says
"No boot device available -" it gives the option the retry or go back to the bios. I only have a external floppy drive but the Hard drive is blank at the moment. Even with the harddrive unplugged same result, so it can't be a virus thing can it?

Im gonna try a different cable now

bum is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 11:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

Can you see your drives in the BIOS? Are the driver set properly? Are they both on the same cable?If so the hard drive shoud be master and the CD rom should be slave.Or both Cable select.
Or maybe the cd rom is broken.

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286

the HDD is SATA so the CD drive is the only one on there. I've tried to boot from cd even without an HDD plugged in same result. Tried a different cable too, no dice. The drive seems to be working, but there is some possiblity its bad. As of now it looks like the most likely culpret is the motherboard.
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602

I assume the boot CD is good?

Does the CD drive spin/light up whenever you put a CD in?
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 07:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
FlashDude's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude

Have you set the cdrom to be the first boot device in the bios? Also If you are using a sata then you will need to set the cd/rw as the master on the primary ide channel. Also you know you will probably need sata drivers so the motherboard will see the hdd, right?
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.