Defragmenting Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2006, 10:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default Defragmenting Problems

K so I have a computer, and it doesn't have the option to defrag because it was wiped clean and I never installed the disc that has it on it (because I'm an idiot). And ironically I also cannot find the disc, SOOOOOOOOOOO I was wondering if there's some way to magically defrag without having to use some ****ty website. Any ideas?
__________________

melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 10:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

What do you mean wipe clean? If Windows is installed it should have a deframenter program located in start meun/program file/accessories/system tools.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 11:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

Law is correct. I think its better to get one defrag program off a site because its better then the regular defrag tool in windows. For me i use O&O Defrag and it works awesome.
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 02:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Quote:
For me i use O&O Defrag and it works awesome.
Same here.

You can download a 30-day trial on majorgeeks.com, or the free version. I don't know how the free version is, though.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 02:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Diskkeeper is also very nice...
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Diskkeeper indeed
salvationsal is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default

I'm 100% confused with diskeeper.

There's so much stuff in it, how do I get it to the defrag part? I've been messing around with it forever...

No where in the actual program do I see anything about defragmenting. I just see a bunch of settings... and I see schedule a degragmentation? wtf?? Whenever I go under that, I have to choose a computer to defrag? I don't get it. someone help me.

Also, O&O Degrag freezes at 10%. No matter what I do I can't get it past 10%.
melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 01:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Well this is great.

I've tried a total of 4 defragmenters and NONE of them I can seem to get to work.
melonabusar2 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 03:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

how can you NOT see where the disk keepers is?? omg...

it is directly left of the analyze button! and it doesnt ask which comp to derag.. it asks what drive... (c:/, d:/, e:/, you get it...)
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

diskeeper =D. yea how do you know they are not working? disk keeper is like the easiest software you'll ever use. i fyou can't even use that then i don't know how we can help you. =\
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.