Defragment problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2005, 04:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Defragment problems

Ive had problems with my computer for almost a year now. I would defrag my computer, and sometimes a game woudlnt work. I would then reinstall the game, an a couple weeks later i would defrag my computer, and right afterwards that game woudlnt work and maybe another one wouldnt. I defragged last night, and today none of my games work, microsoft word doesnt work, and i cant get on my firefox internet explorer (i dont no if anyhting else doesnt owkr yet). Ive formatted a few times over this past year, but i still get the defrag issue. What part would cause this, hard drive most likely?
__________________

aaronkupen is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 06:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You need to run chkdsk on that hard drive. What OS are you using? Do you have virus/spyware/malware software protecting your puter? Sounds like you are getting some on-going sector loss as the drive continues to fail. What type of HD and capacity etc . would be nice to know.
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

Ah im running windows Xp professional. My harddrive is am axtor 60 gig sata150, and yeah i have adaware/spybot/ and my norton just expired, im fairly confident its not a virus because ive been having this problem to some extent even when my computer wasnt connected to the net.
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 11:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 89
Default

I would try using a third party defrag program, it will do a better job and is more efficient than the built-in defrag. You can schedule it to run daily while you're using your computer.
1badtech is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

I think your hdd is going out...
Can you hear any clicking or scratching at anytime ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 03:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

Yah sometimes when the computer is first starting up, I hear about a click every second for a minute or two.
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 03:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

yeah sounds about right...
You might want to back up your information ( just in case ).
I would look into getting another HDD and still keeping that one you have now as a slave until it completely goes out.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 07:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

Alright, thanks. It is still under warrenty, so I'll try to get a free one out of it :-)
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 09-21-2005, 02:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aaronkupen
My harddrive is am axtor
lol found the problem. ahhhh yeah, I'm supprized you managed to get through the defrag, I had 6 consecutive maxtors fail to even get through windows setup before I vowed to never buy anything from them again
__________________

Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.