Defrag won't complete heres why.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2006, 03:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default Defrag won't complete heres why....

it gives me a file called: c\~temp_fill_file_ab 1 mqp

that file is 16.0 GB (17,179,869,184 bytes) and I have NO idea what it is says was created today. That is my problem and what is stopping the computer from completing as well as Disk Clean Up won't run past 3 nitches and I feel it's due to this file.

I am afraid to delete it.
__________________

__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

i would not be concerned about deleting as it is a temp file. have you tried finding out what its associated with right click on the file and check if there is a program associated with it.
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 03:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

try using diskeeper and see what happens.

the mpq is a warcraft file.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 22
Default

lol.. wow wow3d your defrag. >_< J/k

If its a wow file, then it really should'nt be 16 Gb.. o_o
Sightless is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default

Thanks everyone for the ideas and what to do......I will see what it is associted with (if it is) and also never heard of a warcraft file?
__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 01:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Thats huge. Do you cut audio or video on your machine?
You could move it to a different hard drive, so at least it isn't deleted incase you do need it. Run the defrag and see if it causes any problems.
poorman is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 02:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default

Actually I burn cd's but NO WAY that huge. Noww I did open a site that had games etc on it, after thinking I bet that it attached itself somehow or nestled inside my C Drive :-(.consequently it left me with like 2 pie slices of memory.... I don;t have another drive unless you mean like Drive E maybe???
__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to Biggie578
Default

go ahead and delete it. i bet its not auctually 16gb of mostly blank data.
Biggie578 is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 03:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 93
Send a message via AIM to cmillarkat Send a message via Yahoo to cmillarkat
Default

Thanks Biggee,
I will try it and see I surely don;t see what there is in that name that is threatning if I do delete ....It just blew me away the size....
__________________
Cindy
cmillarkat is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 04:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by King X13
the mpq is a warcraft file.
He was meaning Warcraft, the PC game, made by Blizzard Ent. Also, Warcraft isn't the only game to use MPQ files..... Diablo, Diablo 2, Starcraft, etc. etc.
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.