Defender caught a bug - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2007, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Defender caught a bug

Ok well like 2 or 3 times a day windows defender keeps finding this bug called win32/fotomoto. It says its a browser modifier. It can successfully delete it but it always comes back hours later. Any way I can get rid of this for good?
__________________

Michowski is offline  
Old 12-01-2007, 03:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Defender caught a bug

Run a full scan with Defender and your antivirus. Post a hijackthis log.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 12:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: Defender caught a bug

I dont run any antivirus and wont. Ive done several full defender scans and most of the time it finds that one bug. I remove it and its successful then a few hours later its back.
Michowski is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Defender caught a bug

From precisesecurity.com

Win32/Fotomoto is variant of B2Search (eZula) which uses Ukrainian music band named “Fotomoto” to convinced users to install malicious programs that may to downloads popup advertisements from various sources.

Quote:
I dont run any antivirus and wont.
Well there's your first problem :/
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Defender caught a bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michowski View Post
I dont run any antivirus and wont. Ive done several full defender scans and most of the time it finds that one bug. I remove it and its successful then a few hours later its back.
There's your problem.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: Defender caught a bug

I disagree. Never have run one and never had any problems. This fotomoto spyware is the first problem ive had in like 10 years
Michowski is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 02:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: Defender caught a bug

ok i just installed windows live onecare. Instantly found the bug and deleted it again. Hopefully thats it now
Michowski is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 12:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Defender caught a bug

Still kinda weird that you think you don't need a virus scanner. With the amount of viruses being written every day its like having sex with 10 people a day without a trojan... But that's just my opinion I guess you didn't ask for it but hey what can I say....
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 12:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default Re: Defender caught a bug

how come in like 10 years ive never caughten anything then? I download like crazy,game online. Heck if my computer isnt online its because its not on. Never had a virus problem and never needed a scanner.
Michowski is offline  
Old 12-03-2007, 12:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Defender caught a bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michowski View Post
how come in like 10 years ive never caughten anything then? I download like crazy,game online. Heck if my computer isnt online its because its not on. Never had a virus problem and never needed a scanner.
...you are just weird in your thinking
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QuickTime streaming media exploit targets unpatched bug Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 11-26-2007 08:25 AM
iPod Classic Endless Disk-Spinning Bug Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 1 10-19-2007 12:11 PM
Excel 2007 bug superdave1984 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-26-2007 11:48 AM
Critical Zero-Day PDF Bug Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 09-21-2007 06:45 PM
AVG & Windows Defender Optimising h2oz7v Microsoft Windows and Software 1 08-03-2007 04:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.