Dead motherboard replacement? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2006, 12:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Yep. $30 at Sears or the like and you are good to go. Man, those guys know how to charge!!! Sheesh!!!

Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 05:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24

Ok. The guy at Mapling Elactronics said that its most definately the processor and that I didn't need a multimeter. So I am gunna try and get that replaced before I buy the multimeter. Thanks!

SilverStream is offline  
Old 02-04-2006, 09:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 24

Does anyone think that the processor is a valid possibility cos its seems like a lengthy process to have it replaced (RMAs, mailing, etc...)
SilverStream is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 11:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Dngrsone Send a message via Yahoo to Dngrsone

Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
Heck no!! A faulty PSU can run all through system load and then cause random reboots and other issues. Not true.......Anyone who has worked with PC's for a long time knows that a faulty or failing PSU can mimic a huge number of problems...........Test the PSU if you have a Multitester like I suggested. Sheesh!
Yes, I am fully aware of that, which is why I noted the assumption of a good PSU (pending your recommendation immediately preceding my post).
Dngrsone is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to carlege

i have the same problem with my mother board except it is an ASUS.. i had the processor checked by AMD and it checked out ok so the Board is in the process of an RMA.... i think your board is just bad like mine

carlege is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.