"Is it dead, Jim?" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2007, 03:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Default "Is it dead, Jim?"

Hello there.

I - am a very frustrated man.

I have just tried to put in a second new Motherboard into my new PC case.

Only to have it fail ... again.

First off i bought a second hand Abit KT7 RAID MOBO (no laughter, please) with an Athlon 1.3ghz - which for some reason fried.

The second, that which I have been trying to install tonight, is this ; http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/...IG1000%20Pro-G

I bought this from a colleague at work, who said he had tested it, and managed to get into the BIOS, thusly, he believed it to work.

Problem being, for me it doesn't.

The motherboard doesn't post. And yes, i have read and checked through the stickie. There are no LEDs - the system fan spins, but not posting.

I have grounded myself the entire time whilst installing it, so I cannot see how I could have fried this one.

I am just wondering - I only have a 230w PSU, so could this be the problem? Could it be that this measily PSU isn't enough to post the MOBO? Or is the 2.8ghz Celeron D processor dead?

Please....please....tell me what's going on...

Guiberu is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 05:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

try running outside of the case to make sure the mbd isn't grounding out to the case. If it runs outside the case you either didn't include any pastic screw pacers or it didn't come with some and needs them.

If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to denton_12

Another thing to check for is call the MB company, your processor may not be compatible with your motherboard, this happened with me, my Processor had a 2MB Cache, the board is compatible with a processor with up to a 1MB cache.... push power, you get fans spinning and that's it, no POST, no video, just fans. Call your motherboard company and ask if the board is compatible with the processor you've picked.
denton_12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.