DDR3 Memory / 1333Mhz Read Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2009, 06:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 172
Default DDR3 Memory / 1333Mhz Read Error

Hi all.

My motherboard is a Gigabyte, model #EP35C-DS3R. It can support DDR2 and DDR3 memory. I've been using DDR2 memory, 800Mhz, but just picked up some DDR3. I removed the DDR2 memory and inserted the DDR3 only; here's the specs on the DDR3 memory:

Corsair XMS3
4GB: 2 x 2GB Modules DDR3
CL - 9 -9 -9- 24, DHX Cooling

After installing the memory, I booted up and went into the BIOS. My System memory multiplier (SPD) is set to "Auto". Then next to memory frequency it says this:

(SPD) Auto
Memory Frequency (Mhz) 1066 - 1203

The memory is not reading 1333Mhz like it's labeled. I did some random searching on the 'Net and found a posting where someone was experiencing something similar. One reply to the post said that some companies will take memory that's really rated at 1066Mhz speed and "tune" it to 1333Mhz; they said the company OCZ is known to do this. They asked the original poster what brand they have, and it turned out to be Corsair, the same as mine.

A suggestion was to "up" the voltage to the memory to fix this problem.

Any ideas anyone?

On the package this Corsair Memory is listed as 1333Mhz, and:
9 - 9 - 9 - 24
My BIOS reads it as:
7 - 7 - 7 - 20
And CPU-Z reads it as:
8 - 8 - 8 - 23

As a matter of fact, here's a couple of screen shots from CPU-Z:



Please let me know what you think so I can get this RAM to run at its specified speed and proper timings of 9 - 9 - 9 - 24.

Thanks fort any help/ info!!

Pezzy is offline  
Old 05-15-2009, 06:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: DDR3 Memory / 1333Mhz Read Error

Your 1st picture is showing the speed your memory is presently running, which is 601.6Mhz. But it's actually double that so your running at 1203.2

The second picture is showing the settings that your memory will support at various speeds.

You need to adjust the multiplier/ratio to run at 1333 or you can adjust the fsb which will increase the memory speed, but it will also increase the cpu speed.

Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 172
Default Re: DDR3 Memory / 1333Mhz Read Error

Hey Slaymate; thanks for the reply.

I adjusted the timings manually to get 9 - 9 - 9 - 24; also the multiplier/ ratio, but it won't get me "exactly" 1333Mhz, but close.

Just to see and test out what you said, I started to bump up the FSB, and yes, this was getting the memory speed at just about 1333Mhz, but of course, this was also raising the CPU speed and thus overclocking it. So, I put the FSB back for now.

I've done overclocks before with some success......sometimes not. So now I'm thinking....

Do you think since I've got the "better" RAM (DDR3 and not DDR2), with 1333Mhz as opposed to the 800Mhz I had before....would this itself lend itself towards a better overclock on the CPU? My Q9450 processor itself is 1333Mhz. Would my current DDR3 RAM work better with my processor than my previous DDR2? Get better performance from it? A more "stable" overclock?

Perhaps I should be asking this in the Overclocking forum....

Pezzy is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 12:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Slaymate's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: DDR3 Memory / 1333Mhz Read Error

DDR3 is faster than DDR2 so even at the same "speed" (for lack of a better term) your memory will be running faster. As for the overclocking, yes, the DDR3 should be better or more helpful. It's giving you more "headroom" for your overclock
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micron enters graphics memory business thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 3 05-17-2009 04:37 PM
Get To Know Linux: See Your Systemsí Memory Usage Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 03-10-2009 09:12 PM
disk read error, Windows XP shortstop20 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 12-12-2008 12:19 AM
Memory error KurryBoy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 11-10-2008 12:47 PM
Always disc read error every moved to other place?? rikinel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 10-12-2007 03:59 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.