Date ,Time,MB Problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2008, 06:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Question Date ,Time,MB Problem.

Hi all. My A8S-X board blew on me. So disregard my comp specs at the bottom of the post. Will change all that soon. I now have an A8N-SLI Premium . Second hand of course but so far so good. Only strange thing i've noticed is every time i disconnect the power supply the date and time settings go back to 2006. Does this mean the mb battery is no good or could it be a bios setting? Only ever used to get this if i removed the battery . New one on me !
Any clues ? Thanks Brunoboy.
__________________

__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Date ,Time,MB Problem.

Get a new battery.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Date ,Time,MB Problem.

Yep, new battery will solve your problem.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-11-2008, 07:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Default Re: Date ,Time,MB Problem.

Thanks all. I have a couple of spare batteries i will try. Thought about that at first but in 10 years of tinkering with all types of boards, some very old i have never come across a dud battery. With this board even with the anti-intrusion jumper set to default, not in use, you still have to dissable anti-intrusion in bios and then it resets bios to defaults. Bit of a strange setup.
Thanks HEAPS ALL. Trying to find out other things about this board and bios but will start a new post soon. Thanks again.


*edit*
Thanks all. Will call it fixed.

Comp specs here are now up to date.Cheers.
__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 11:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Date ,Time,MB Problem.

Congrats.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 10:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Default Re: Date ,Time,MB Problem.

What do you mea "Don't tripple post" ? Don't get it , tell me what i've done wrong please. Thanks Brunoboy.

This message has been deleted by b1gapl. Reason: Don't triple post!!!
__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Date ,Time,MB Problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunoboy View Post
What do you mea "Don't tripple post" ? Don't get it , tell me what i've done wrong please. Thanks Brunoboy.

This message has been deleted by b1gapl. Reason: Don't triple post!!!
Each post made by you has an edit button. Posters are not allowed to post multiple consecutive posts in a short period of time. You have to use the edit button to change the post.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 01:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Default Re: Date ,Time,MB Problem.

Thanks Peter,
So if i start a post, you answer a question or tell me to try someting, i do whatever, it only takes me a few minutes . Are you saying i cannot then come back and post a quick reply ? If so how long do i have to wait ? Or do you mean i'm supposed to get back to you by editing the original post each time with answers or results etc ? I'm good at complicating things huh ! Sorry just trying to get it right . Bye the way the new battery worked. Thanks. Want to start a new post about where ive placed a fan to cool the Chip on this board but a bit wary now!
__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 12:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Date ,Time,MB Problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brunoboy View Post
Thanks Peter,
So if i start a post, you answer a question or tell me to try someting, i do whatever, it only takes me a few minutes . Are you saying i cannot then come back and post a quick reply ? If so how long do i have to wait ? Or do you mean i'm supposed to get back to you by editing the original post each time with answers or results etc ? I'm good at complicating things huh ! Sorry just trying to get it right . Bye the way the new battery worked. Thanks. Want to start a new post about where ive placed a fan to cool the Chip on this board but a bit wary now!
No, just no two consecutive post. Because if I tell you something. Then you can't consecutively post since I'm the sandwich. And no, please don't edit the original post, that gets annoying . You can post different threads as long as they are different topics.

For example:
[you]
[me]
[others]
[you]
[me]
[you]
[you]*this is bad, use edit.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 11:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Thumbs up Re: Date ,Time,MB Problem.

Thanks Pete, I get it now. Realize what i must have done: replied , forgot to write something in so posted another directly. Cheers for that.
__________________

__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem installing software in windows xp pro imagesmith Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-20-2008 02:46 PM
Problem with 3D graphics mordi05 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 12-10-2007 11:37 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM
Chronic Rebooting Problem AND_YOU_ARE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-24-2007 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.