Data recovery - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2006, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default Data recovery

Hi. Just this morning my dad managed to "install" windows on my computer which already had windows xp running perfectly. Let me elaborate. A few day's ago I had put the xp os cd in the drive and forgotten about it. This isn't a problem because I never turn my computer off, only stand by. Somehow it did shutdown and upon reboot (Cd drive was primary) asked if windows needed to be installed. My dad isn't the brightest, so he went ahead with it all up till the point of the cd key request. When I woke up he told me about it and I was enraged.

I have a 160 gig HD, of which 90% was full. Now in order to install he must have overwritten the drive partioning. So does this mean all my data is shot? When I try to get it to start it keeps prompting me to install the setup cd to continue installation. If I cancel it reboots and does the same. Is there anyway of getting this to stop so it can just load the normal os or am I too late? If I go through with installation, will there be anyway of recovering my files. I have some very important stuff I need for school, work, not to mention tons of pictures and home videos. Nothing has been backed up, no restore points or anything like that. You guys have a take on this? Is data retrieval possible?

Absolutely any help is appreciated.
__________________

xven is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 02:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

did you have more partitions before? if thats the case id think xp would just install over the xp partition again.

If you just had 1 big partition with everything on he might have formatted it at the start of installing xp which could mean data is lost.

You might be able to install xp and use a data recovery software to retrieve some of your files, unless it is overwritten the data is still there.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Thank you, I am about to try just that. Any recommendations on the data recovery software? Music, videos all can be downloaded again, that is not my concern. I need the pics and documents that are immensely important. Thanks again baronvongogo, I'll let you guys know how it goes. I'm still open to other suggestions.

Oh and there was just one big partition. According to him, he chose to "repair" windows not reinstall. Hopefully something will come off the data recovery. I feel so helpless right now.
xven is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

hope I'm not wrong! maybe you should wait till someone more qualified can suggest a course of action. And nope I don't no any data recovery program sadly. Although I'm sure someone will post here soon with such software.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 10
Default

check this link for getdataback i found it easy to use and recovered files from my system eg from my docs after i installed over it.

http://www.runtime.org/datarecovery.htm
Stealth1S1K is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 06:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Thank for the help guys. This is my current situation. I tried to install window and the partition was found and the exact size of what it was. However, windows xp will not load or repair. I would more than likely have to reinstall and there isn't much space to create another partition, hence I would have to write over my old partition. Is there any way to acess the hd if windows is not installed. As in, if I hooked it up to another computer and tried to read off it? Keep in mind, an OS is not installed on the hd I will be trying to read. In short, will I be able to get access to the hd with no OS if I hooked it up to another computer? Or does the hd have to have an os on it to be accessed? Is there anyway to install windows withut deleting the partition?

Thank you in advance. You guys have been a big help.
xven is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 06:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

if you had another hard drive you can access the data, your old one doesnt need an OS on it.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 07:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Amazing! I'll get another hd and install windows on it. So in essense, I should be able to access my original hd regardless of no OS on it right? Would it just show up as one of the drives in my computer or do I have to do something to more to get access? I mean, just identify both the hd's in bios, install windows on the new one, and all my data on the previous one will appear in the drive, correct? The partition is intact. Repairing windows doesn't seem to work, so I'll have to take this route. All this sounds good?

Thank you guys sooo much. Honestly, I couldn't ask for anything more than my hd data safe and accessable. All the help thus far has really been appreciated much.
xven is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 07:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

well did you format your hard drive? if you connect a new one install windows on it. When you connect your old hard drive it`ll just appear in windows as d: or e: or whatever... but if you formatted it then it`ll be empty and you will still need data recovery software.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 07:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Stealth1S1K
check this link for getdataback i found it easy to use and recovered files from my system eg from my docs after i installed over it.

http://www.runtime.org/datarecovery.htm
A life Saver Program,,,,you won't be disappointed!!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.