damaged CPU or motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2006, 12:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default damaged CPU or motherboard?

Hello

Ever since yesterday I have been having problems with my computer, I tried to get cpu temp down with my orbII cpu fan but when i turned on the computer after administering more thermal paste the D-bracket said that my processor was either damaged or installed wrong so I then put the Stock fan on the cpu (p4) after taking the paste off with bit of rubbing alchol.

It seemed to work fine untill today when it said my harddrive was corrupt so I ran the chkdsk and it said my harddrive had been repaired but when I rebooted i couldnt copy and paste from the webbrowser and the applications were not appearing on the taskbar.

I then went to repair windows but it got stuck on 37mins so i rebooted and the same thing happend, stuck on installing devices 37 mins remaining.

I then rebooted and am currently formating my computer and installing a fresh copy of windows.

I have only had my processor about 4 days same with the motherboard and windows was last installed last week on friday.

Could it be that the reason it isnt working propely is because when I last installed windows I did a quick format and not a proper one or is my processor damaged? or my motherboard.
__________________

__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

if your PC turns on and beeps it should be fine. Just do a complete reformatt and it should be fine. Oh yes.. and there is a such thing as to much thermal paste, your meant to have about .5 of a mm thick layer over the dye of the cpu.
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 01:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

so if the cpu was damaged it wouldnt work at all?
__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 03:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

seems to be doing good after format and reinstall.

I even did a benchmark on the CPU and results came up normal, the temperture when idle is around 39-41 C.
__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 12:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Could it be the rubbing alcohol?
rowelld is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

i highly doubt that as rubbing alchol is used in the industry to clean cpu dies.
__________________

__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.