Daily Quiz: Troubleshooting 101 - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2005, 12:07 PM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

it would still work tho wouldnt it? cuz if ur reinstalling windows XP all they're checking is that you "own" an older version of windows...worked for me anyway.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:31 PM   #42 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

PROBLEM:

Timmy wakes up one morning to find that his CRT monitor isn't working. It's connected to his videocard and it's plugged in and has power. After trying everything from restarting to reconnecting all wires he gives up. Then he decides to open up the CRT and poke around, may-be he can find the problem. Which of the following precautions should timmy take. Answer all that apply.

A. Wear wrist strap to prevent ESD damage to the monitor

B. Make sure that the power is switched off and the power cord is plugged out

C. Make sure that the ESD is grounded properly

D. Connect the Monitor as well as the wrist strap to the ground.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 12:55 PM   #43 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49
Default

A - always wear a wirts strap when handeling hardware especaly monitors
B - im not even going to explain
C - probs should but i dont know
__________________
Still stupid but getting there... :D
Rich97 is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 02:49 PM   #44 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

ANSWER:

Actually the only correct answer is B. Make sure that the power is switched off and the power cord is unplugged.

B is the obvious answer but the reason why the other ones are wrong is CRT monitors can hold over 20,000 volts of electricity. Even when they are unplugged and turned off. Grounding yourself to 20,000 volts would not be a smart choice as you may end up a burnt spot on the floor.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 03:01 PM   #45 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49
Default

well i knew monitors were different but i got it the opposite way round :S, oh well.
__________________
Still stupid but getting there... :D
Rich97 is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 09:14 PM   #46 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

wow that was a pretty tricky one. IBMan: an upgrade copy of windows xp requires a pre-installed windows OS higher than win98 (i think it won't work on win95) to work. the upgrade copy install should only start from within windows.

new question

problem: timmy has a nice multimedia pc setup in his study. he has a brilliant sound card and gfx card and a nice big sub-woofer on the desk, a massive dvd collection and just about all he could want. he used to have a little shelf on the wall with his old crt monitor but the shelf broke and the monitor smashed. after cleaning up the mess he did some thinking. he decided that for his purposes he would by another crt monitor instead of upgrading to an lcd. after buying his new monitor he puts it on his desk and fires up the computer only to find a strange distortion down the side of the screen. he takes the monitor back and gets a replacement which does the same thing.

question: what is causing the distortion?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 09:31 PM   #47 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

His high-fidelity audio equipment.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 09:35 PM   #48 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

correct. i probably wasn't specific enough about the placement but you got it anyway. his sub-woofer is on the desk next to the crt monitor which is a definite no no. your turn to write a question or you can just pass for anyone else to write.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 09:36 PM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

subwoofer
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 09:37 PM   #50 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Somebody else can post a question.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.