Daily Quiz: Troubleshooting 101 - Page 14 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2005, 11:24 AM   #131 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yes!
there really isn't much difference between 2000 and XP. their drivers always seem to be interchangable.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 11:32 AM   #132 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Yup they are both based on NT version... I don't really remember. Lol. I think it's 6 cuz when you do a function it's says something like Windows 6.5???????...

PROBLEM
Timmy really want's to try Linux. So, he download it and then burn it. And now, restart is computer with the first CD in the CD-ROM. In the instructions he says that it sould boot to the CD-ROM by it self. But, it doesn't do it, and continue to hell (Windows).

Q: How can he fix that problem so that it can boot on the CD-ROM?
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 11:33 AM   #133 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

go into the bios and go to boot sequence and say boot form cd-rom
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 11:41 AM   #134 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

You're right! It's easy as that!
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 11:45 AM   #135 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

ill pass the question to someone else, who hasnt had a turn, cause im bad at this stuff.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 11:49 AM   #136 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

PROBLEM
Timmy just installed MSN Messenger, and created a new account. But now it's bugging him that it won't sign in anymore, it just won't sign in, what ever account he use.

Q: What sould he do?

This one is a little bit harder.
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:02 PM   #137 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i dunno, he has no internet connection?

tell me the answer!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 03:05 PM   #138 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

This:
How do I fix error 81000370?

1. Click the Microsoft Windows Start button, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
2. Click Network and Internet Connections.
3. Click Set up or change your Internet connection.
4. Click the Content tab.
5. Under Certificates, click Clear SSL State.
6. Click OK when you receive a confirmation.
7. Click the Advanced tab, and then scroll down to Security.
8. Make sure that Check for server certificate revocation (requires restart) is not selected, and that Use SSL 2.0 and Use SSL 3.0 are selected.

If your computer is running Microsoft® Microsoft® Windows® XP, clear the DNS resolver cache.
1. On the taskbar, click Start, and then click Run.
2. In the box, type cmd, and then click OK.
3. At the command prompt, type ipconfig /flushdns, and then press ENTER.

And it sould work... :P My MSN was always doing this before...

Now another one:
PROBLEM
Timmy just bought some CD-RW, he burnt some photos for a friend. So, he used the Windows Burning Wizard. He just drag and drop his photos. And then, pass it to his friend. His friend got a old computer, some computer with the following specs:
Pentium 133MHz
32MB of RAM
24x CD-ROM

And, when he puts the CD in, it doesn't work. It's spins and then just like if there we're nothing!

Q: What can his friend do for this?
__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 05:51 PM   #139 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Well guessing Timmy is on Windows XP, his frnd will ned Win XP, for memory it gives u a warning befor you burn saying, this cd will only be viewable on XP machines.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 10-09-2005, 06:03 PM   #140 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 511
Send a message via MSN to LegendBreath
Default

Well... I mean that Windows XP wizards burn those CDs with a multisession...
__________________

__________________
LegendBreath is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.