Daily Quiz: Troubleshooting 101 - Page 11 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2005, 09:41 AM   #101 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
Timmy caught frogs. his friend Leroy also caught frogs
does Timmy like cheese?


nah seriously:
what colour wires would one need to connect a device to if they wanted 12V from the PSU
whats that go to do with the answer to timmys problem?
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:43 AM   #102 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does it have to have something to do with timmy's problems?

if you want it to be a "timmy" problem, then
Timmy wants to connect a set of lights to his PSU. he needs 12V to do it. what wires would Timmy have to use?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:43 AM   #103 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
nah seriously:
what colour wires would one need to connect a device to if they wanted 12V from the PSU
Red wire and a black wire.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:45 AM   #104 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yup
and the yellow and red ones are for 5V
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:52 AM   #105 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

oh sorry, i did'nt know that was a new question.. i thought we were still looking for answers to the bios password problem.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:16 AM   #106 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Anyone who participates or has participated by Posting a question, please try to "format" the (Problem Post) with PROBLEM

This way everyone can identify a new problem.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:21 PM   #107 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

another two solution to the BIOS problem. look up a set of "master" codes for the manufacturer. on some laptops (i think its toshibas) the setup password can be bypassed by holding ctrl.

new question

problem: patricks computer, which has an ATX motherboard and psu behaves strangely with windows xp. it will not turn off using soft-off and instead comes to the screen intended for AT computers "it is now safe to turn off your computer". he has verified that it is neither the motherboard nor the psu with a linux live-cd which could still use soft-off.

question: what setting in windows xp should patrick ensure is turned on?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:27 PM   #108 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

hmm...didnt know, or if i did i forgot there was even a setting to do so.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:37 PM   #109 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

ANSWER: ??? M ay-be

Hibernate mode writes an image of what you're currently working on to a special file on your hard drive, and then shuts your computer almost completely off. It takes a bit longer than Standby, since it needs to write to your hard drive. Hibernate also takes a bit longer to resume, since you must go through essentially the normal boot process, although in Windows XP your computer wakes faster from Hibernate than in previous versions of Windows.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:39 PM   #110 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there is not a specific setting. more a "setting group" that enabling should fix the problem.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.