Daily Quiz: Troubleshooting 101 - Page 10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2005, 08:44 AM   #91 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
that would power on and all, but just not work
I know, but it was worth guessing.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 08:45 AM   #92 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Major got it right, he forgot to connect the 4pin 12V power to the motherboard. I did this and my computer turned on for about 1 second then just turned off.. the fans did'nt even have time to reach full RPM...
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 08:47 AM   #93 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I've worked on a computer that didn't have the 4 pin power connector in, and it did stay on, it just wouldn't do anything.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 08:55 AM   #94 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I've worked on a computer that didn't have the 4 pin power connector in, and it did stay on, it just wouldn't do anything.
Mine did the same. And the fan would ocasionnally stop spinning. But motherboards are different, some will probably shut down.
Somebody else may post a Q.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:07 AM   #95 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

PROBLEM:

Timmy's brother Peter just bought a laptop from his friend Leroy. Peter tries to Boot the Laptop to the currently installed Operating System but a screen pops up asking him to enter a BIOS password. Peter has no knowledge of what the password is and he can't contact his friend leroy because he's gone off to the military.

Question:
What are at least two things that Peter can do to by-pass the BIOS password and enable him to boot to the Operating System?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:12 AM   #96 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

reset the BIOS by:
taking out the battery
using the reset jumper
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:17 AM   #97 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
reset the BIOS by:
taking out the battery
using the reset jumper
Correct those are two ways. Are there any other ways?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:18 AM   #98 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

My solution, wait for Leroy to return from military and ask him for the password
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:22 AM   #99 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

i don't know about a laptop.. but if they dont have a battery on the motherboard, just take out the power pack and battery.

Flash the BIOS? dose flashing the bios remove the password?
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 09:37 AM   #100 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Timmy caught frogs. his friend Leroy also caught frogs
does Timmy like cheese?











nah seriously:
what colour wires would one need to connect a device to if they wanted 12V from the PSU
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.