D-link DGS1008G only alowing 5 computer to connect - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2011, 11:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: D-link DGS1008G only alowing 5 computer to connect

Quote:
My absolute apologies Digerati, I now realise that I had it backward on both those pre-caffeine posts.
No problem. Thanks. That said, direct router to router is typically done with a straight Ethernet cable too. Note most routers have an "Uplink" or "Internet" port, normally connected to the cable/DSL modem. But they can, and often are used to connect, but isolate 2 networks by hanging one router off another through that Uplink port.

For the record, that is exactly how I isolate my business network from my home network - so I don't connect a possibly infected client's machine to my personal home network.

Again, crossover cables are special purpose, and most commonly used to connect computer to computer - on older systems when autosensing ports are not available, as seen here.
__________________

__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Old 10-19-2011, 01:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: D-link DGS1008G only alowing 5 computer to connect

My networking skills are so rusty but myself and S0ULphIRE did some CCNA level training at the same TAFE a few years back.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-19-2011, 09:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: D-link DGS1008G only alowing 5 computer to connect

I had to look up TAFE to see what that was - I had not heard of it before. There is no nationwide equivalent here in the U.S., though there are many "community colleges", trade and technical schools that offer similar curriculums, many nationally "accredited".

The CCNA Cert provides a great introduction to the theory behind basic networking, TCP/IP, OSI model, etc. If you have let it expire, I recommend you re-certify, then go for the Intermediate and Advanced certs. You don't have to stick with Cisco, CompTIA and MS Certs are well accepted too, as well as several other lessor known, but equally good ones.

In many cases, companies look at Intermediate and Advanced certs (if current) as important as 2 and 4 year degrees if you have hands on "field experience" too. I highly recommend a focus on security. My experience maintaining secure global communications networks for the Air Force and DoD was instrumental in me landing a great job with a major IT defense contractor when I got out.

I personally think the Cisco courses are "technically" better, but many non-IT companies looking for IT people prefer MS certs because MS products are so entrenched in their day-to-day operations with Windows and Office on nearly all their machines, they incorrectly think they need to stick with one brand. The downside to any "branded" course, Cisco for example, if you take a Cisco course, you learn Cisco terminology using Cisco products.

But then again, if your local TAFE offers a 2-year degree in Computer Information Technology (called an AS - Applied Science - degree here), that will likely get you a better salary - unless you have years of experience on your resume along with Certs.

That said, I have dragged this topic way OT and I apologize to Mandingo for that, noting he has yet to return from his opening post. Sorry Mandingo. I am afraid you got a lot more than you asked for.
__________________

__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer will not connect solidsteve Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 10-28-2009 09:58 AM
connect your computer to a tv set ITZBVAN005 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-21-2005 08:04 PM
Airlink router can't connect to D-link modem czynut Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-23-2005 07:34 PM
Connect TV to Computer capaldi30 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 07-12-2004 10:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.