d drive help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default d drive help

I've just put in a cd rewriter in to my pc ...however my computer can't find a d drive can anyone help me on this?
__________________

edwardedward198 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 02:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Make sure the IDE cable and the power cable are firmly seated.

Go into BIOS and check to see if it sees it.

You may have to remove your CMOS battery and let your BIOS reset itself before it sees the drive.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 07:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default

how do i get into the bios?
edwardedward198 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

see your other post for accessing BIOS. also you will have to check the jumpers for Master and Slave settings. is it on a cable on its own?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What did you set the second drive to? Master or Slave? Check your jumper settings.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default

how do i do that its a custom built pc and i'm right thick on the techincal jargon.
edwardedward198 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default

i give it a try thanks lads
edwardedward198 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 08:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Let us know how it goes.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 09:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

good work on the pic shawn i was looking for a pic i could post as well
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.