Custom gaming rig won't power on anymore

Soulsabaz

Beta member
Hey guys, so this is my first time on the forums and I figured someone could help me out here. I built my rig 3 years ago and just yesterday I was just doing basic web surfing and it decides to shut off completely without warning. I thought maybe my PSU has finally died and so I decided to check by pulling the power etc, turning the switch off then back on. Now the very first time I tried this, the started up for a few minutes giving me an error saying there was a power surge and it shut off to protect the components and so I was just able to allow it to boot up windows. After a few seconds of that, the computer completely shut off again. I went through the whole power routine one more time and instead of actually booting up, my LED fan flickers for a millisecond and the PC won't power anymore.

Specs:
Windows 7 64bit
Nvidia GeForce GTS 450 - 1GB memory stock over clock
AMD Phenom II Black Edition Duo Core 3.2ghz (I unlocked it to allow 4 cores)
ASUS M4A4785-M Motherboard
4GB RAM DDR2
Thermaltake TR2 600W

Now I would think that my PSU has just run its course but my tech buddy who helped me build this says it could be a problem with the motherboard.
What do you guys think?
I apologize for any "noobness" in advance LOL