Curious about why this happened... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2011, 03:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
GhOsT1321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 804
Default Re: Curious about why this happened...

Quote:
Originally Posted by earwicker7 View Post
Now I'm getting games where the 2D stuff (the user interface) is there, but the 3D parts are missing. I'm just going to do a clean reinstall; all of this started happening right after I used DriverCleaner, so I'm hoping it's a software issue, not a hardware problem (I can still run Futuremark on both DX10 and DX11 with no problems).
Chances are, you deleted something that you shouldn't have deleted, try reinstalling the drivers.
Have you checked your temps?
__________________

__________________
Build to be updated, a reminder to myself.
GhOsT1321 is offline  
Old 05-02-2011, 08:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Curious about why this happened...

Quote:
Originally Posted by GhOsT1321 View Post
Chances are, you deleted something that you shouldn't have deleted, try reinstalling the drivers.
Have you checked your temps?
Yeah, I reinstalled the drivers, but apparently DriverCleaner is extremely aggressive and sometimes goes "out of bounds". The temps are really low... under full load, they barely get into the 50s.
__________________

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 05-09-2011, 12:25 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Default Re: Curious about why this happened...

Good news... it was the driver. Bad news... I jumped to conclusions that something was missing and did a complete OS reinstall. Good news... I have a clean reinstall
__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF X RC-942-KKN1
Power Supply: Silverstone ST1500 1500W
Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme; CPU: i7-3970; Memory: Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB @ 2133MHz
Graphics Card: HD7970
Optical: 2 x Lite-On iHAS424SATA 24X DVD
Hard Drive: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X 2 240 GB
Monitor: Samsung 1080P 120Hz 3D
earwicker7 is offline  
Old 05-13-2011, 12:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 30
Default Re: Curious about why this happened...

Only use the games you want to play to do the test. Don't use any other of those overclocking programs. ; )
__________________

Jdimstr333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The most curious AM3 Gothch1ck New Systems | Building and Buying 15 02-11-2009 03:16 PM
Im Just Curious keyser09 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 10-21-2006 03:43 PM
RAM curious. SouthIowa System Upgrades 2 09-13-2005 09:57 PM
just curious ITZBVAN005 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 12-07-2004 09:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.