CS Latency? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default CS Latency?

Hey i have some problems with my CS, my latency is really high and my shots arnt registering correctly. im using a 7900GT and my friend who is using onboard graphics has a much better ping thenme, whats the problem?
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

your ping has to do with the internet normally, not your hardware (although i could be wrong)
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

hmmm so its probably my internet connection?
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

Yes.

What type of connection do you have and what type does he have?
Erich K is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

i have highspeed internet, but could it be my router thats the problem? it is kidof old..
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

i'm supposing you are talking about CS:S too? correct?

your ping should be pretty good depending on the server if you are on DSL or above
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by COD2_fanatic
i'm supposing you are talking about CS:S too? correct?

your ping should be pretty good depending on the server if you are on DSL or above
yeah cable modem with highspeed internet, im assuming its my router
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

What is your ping?
Erich K is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

mine - 150's

his - 34


really retarded. and he was owning me when i clearly hadshot him in the head multiple times lol
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default

It's probably because either, he has a better internet provider, or he lives closer to the internet provider's building.
__________________

Erich K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.